U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Celebrating Memorial Day!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-29-2010, 06:56 PM

2 posts, read 4,889 times

Advertisements

My wife and I have both lived our entire lives in the Midwest, Kansas for myself and Missouri for her, and are considering a change of scenery. I've spent lots of time vacationing in Colorado, but am not familiar what areas would be the right ones to settle down and raise a family in. Wanting something smaller and quaint, less touristy, more local. I am a dentist and she is a family physician, so that might mean somewhere closer to a medical facility for her, and a town that is not merely a vacation destination for myself. Would love anyone's input.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-29-2010, 07:17 PM

19,060 posts, read 8,952,548 times
I'm interested in your post because I'm moving to Colorado Springs next week (from the Washington, D.C. area...with a one year detour to Thailand).

I can't speak to your tastes of course, but having also traveled around the state a fair amount and knowing that I someday might retire there, I always had my eye out on possible retirement locations. The more out of the way places I considered included Durango and Grand Junction, but in the end, having now lived a suburban life for many years, I decided they were too rural and isolated for my tastes. I did have a professional colleague who was a school official from Grand Junction and simply raved about the lifestyle there and really tried to push me in that direction.