U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > South Carolina > Columbia area
 [Register]
Columbia area Columbia - Lexington - Irmo
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-23-2010, 02:56 AM

115 posts, read 154,710 times

Advertisements

I been in Greenville for 7 months and have not seen many jobs. I love the area and its beauty, the mountains etc. I moved here from the midwest. However, I'm getting very frustrated when it comes to jobs. I haven't been able to find one yet. i am a teacher by trade , but I believe there are a lot of unemployed and soon to be graduating teachers in the area. I've heard Greenville schools is cutting back money. That doesn't make me fill very optimistic.

What's it like in Columbia? Jobs, social scene, crime, housing, public transportation etc?

I find Greenville to be almost a sleepy little town that closes shop at 11pm. It's pretty quiet most of the time here which I kind of like. However I don't like the lack of diverse jobs or jobs period, poor public transportation and the act the art museum is the size of a tea cup, but i could easily live with those issues if I found a job.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-23-2010, 04:34 AM

8,886 posts, read 13,326,008 times