U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia > Columbus, GA
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 05-02-2014, 11:06 AM
 
183 posts, read 234,133 times
Reputation: 56

Advertisements

Trying to get info before moving to Columbus. Do you guys have AT&T U-Verse there? Any comments about it (positive or negative)? What about other cable companies (that would bundle internet, TV, phone)?

Thanks!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 05-02-2014, 08:59 PM
 
95 posts, read 153,428 times
Reputation: 38
I'm in north Columbus, and have WOW Cable (was Knology). They offer bundled TV, Internet, and phone. Service has been pretty decent, but can slow down in the evenings (everyone streaming movies, I suppose), but it's tolerable.

Sorry, can't answer your questions about AT&T.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-02-2014, 10:25 PM
 
Location: Columbus, GA and Brookhaven, GA
5,584 posts, read 7,931,277 times
Reputation: 2325
Yes Columbus has U-Verse
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-03-2014, 10:09 AM
 
183 posts, read 234,133 times
Reputation: 56
Thanks for the responses! Since we currently have U-Verse I was hoping to continue that!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-05-2014, 10:20 AM
 
Location: Columbus, GA
1,318 posts, read 1,574,070 times
Reputation: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigsurluvr View Post
Trying to get info before moving to Columbus. Do you guys have AT&T U-Verse there? Any comments about it (positive or negative)? What about other cable companies (that would bundle internet, TV, phone)?

Thanks!
U-Verse only has phone and internet available in Columbus. Their TV services are not available, and U-Verse is only available in select neighborhoods. I can't get it in 31909, 31808, 31807, etc. What zip-code are you moving to?

I'd be glad to help locate service for ya!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-05-2014, 10:36 AM
 
183 posts, read 234,133 times
Reputation: 56
Darn. I don't know yet which zip code we'll be moving to. We're on the search now for a home. Will let you know when we settle on one. Which cable company do you use? Thanks for the update.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-05-2014, 11:23 AM
 
23 posts, read 34,898 times
Reputation: 10
I'm interested in this too. I have Verizon FIOS right now...I assume that's not an option? Need fast internet and good HD cable...with HBO/HBO Go....
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-06-2014, 12:03 PM
 
Location: Columbus, GA
1,318 posts, read 1,574,070 times
Reputation: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigsurluvr View Post
Darn. I don't know yet which zip code we'll be moving to. We're on the search now for a home. Will let you know when we settle on one. Which cable company do you use? Thanks for the update.
We have a few available, Mediacom, Charter, and WOW! are the big "3" in Columbus. It depends on where you are and what services you require. I would go with Mediacom, then Charter (limited to most of South Columbus), and then WOW! - WOW! just started requiring set-top DTA boxes for each TV in your house at ~$2/mo. for life. Not fair to require additional equipment when it can be done without it.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-06-2014, 12:04 PM
 
Location: Columbus, GA
1,318 posts, read 1,574,070 times
Reputation: 234
Quote:
Originally Posted by cityboy75 View Post
I'm interested in this too. I have Verizon FIOS right now...I assume that's not an option? Need fast internet and good HD cable...with HBO/HBO Go....
No, FIOS doesn't exist here in the South - I wish it did! Mediacom and Charter are going to have your top speeds. Mediacom has a 305mbps tier (expensive but available)
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-06-2014, 12:20 PM
 
Location: Columbus,Georgia
2,663 posts, read 4,590,432 times
Reputation: 614
I actually love the digital adapter. You get lot more channels in the bedrooms now.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:


Settings
X
Data:
Loading data...
Based on 2000-2020 data
Loading data...

123
Hide US histogram

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Georgia > Columbus, GA

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:57 PM.

© 2005-2023, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Contact Us - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 - Top