U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 08-01-2010, 11:24 AM
 
Location: San Antonio
2,216 posts, read 3,982,829 times
Reputation: 1179

Advertisements

A couple months ago we purchased a refurbished laptop from someone for our son. I have learned that the windows vista he put on is not genuine. I have no desire to go back to the source that we purchased the computer from for various reasons.

I do have a genuine windows xp cd that I had purchased. I would like to install it.

How can I uninstall the non genuine vista??? when I try to just add the xp cd it says it cannot install as there is already a newer system on the computer.

Please help as I do not wish to use something that is non genuine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 08-01-2010, 11:30 AM
 
Location: Cary, NC
33,432 posts, read 58,022,618 times
Reputation: 32205
Back up all your data and files.

Format the hard drive.

Install XP and reload software.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-01-2010, 11:36 AM
 
28,131 posts, read 39,743,122 times
Reputation: 36549
You need to set the laptop to boot from the CD if it doesn't already and insert the XP CD . When it boots to that CD it should start the installation.

A caution: You can't always install XP on a laptop designed for Vista. This is because there may not be drivers for the newer hardware in the laptop. I ran into this when a client wanted to buy a new laptop, but put XP on it. There were some hardware items there were no drivers for.

So what you want to do is go to the web site of the manufacturer for that specific model and see if they supply drivers for XP and download them. Save them to a CD or USB drive so they can be installed when XP installs.

To change the computer to boot to a CD you go into setup when it first starts and find the boot options. This is done by pressing a key, and there are various keys used depending on who makes the computer. As a result you may have to restart a couple of times. Once to figure out the right key (It sometimes goes by so fast that by the time you know the key to press it's too late) and once to get into the setup screens.

Place CD at the top of the list. When you restart you should see a notice that pressing any key will boot from the CD (or something similar).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-01-2010, 11:37 AM
 
Location: San Antonio
2,216 posts, read 3,982,829 times
Reputation: 1179
wanna give me the format the harddrive for dummies version????
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-01-2010, 11:46 AM
 
28,131 posts, read 39,743,122 times
Reputation: 36549
When you install XP from the CD you will see a screen where you are asked to format. Do a full format, not a quick format.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-01-2010, 12:18 PM
 
16,301 posts, read 24,890,167 times
Reputation: 8282
Is the XP your purchased a "upgrade" version, i.e. meaning it will be looking for a previous edition of Windows before it will install? Not sure if it would recognize Vista as a valid OS to allow it to install.

If it is a version for a new PC, then no problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-01-2010, 12:50 PM
 
Location: San Antonio
2,216 posts, read 3,982,829 times
Reputation: 1179
the xp is a full version that I bought for a previous computer that I no longer have. I should still be able to use that one right?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-01-2010, 01:37 PM
 
16,301 posts, read 24,890,167 times
Reputation: 8282
Quote:
Originally Posted by mamatotex97 View Post
the xp is a full version that I bought for a previous computer that I no longer have. I should still be able to use that one right?
If it doesn't say "upgrade" your are good to go
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:49 AM.

2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. | Please obey Forum Rules | Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top