U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-07-2010, 08:13 PM

5,683 posts, read 9,235,371 times

Advertisements

Apologies in advance for the length of this: I am not a techie and don't know how to describe this stuff in technical terms. I'm sure it's possible to explain this in one short sentence, but I don't know the words to do that.

The IS infrastructure at my workplace is an odd mishmash of PC and Mac users, and within the groups of PC users and Mac-o-philes, there is quite a wide range of operating systems, office software and so on. It makes for some interesting challenges, but I've never encountered one quite like what's baffling me today.

I have a PC running Windows 7 (one of the first few in the company on that OS) and using Office 2003 for business applications. Most other PC users are on XP, with a few Vista users. Macs in use by other departments feature all sorts of combinations of operating systems and versions of business software.

I had need to access an Excel spreadsheet that is normally updated and maintained by a Mac user in the marketing department (I'm in accounting). After obtaining the requisite permissions and security access to that section in the main server, I opened the spreadsheet, corrected a circular reference error that demanded attention, and then did a Save-As over to my folder on the server so I could continue to analyze the data that I needed without tying up the original.