U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 09-08-2010, 04:43 PM
 
Location: In Phoenix by way of San Antonio
1,682 posts, read 2,751,190 times
Reputation: 1247

Advertisements

Not the smartest when i comes to computers. So i have a question about upgrading from an i3 core to an i5. What are some of the things that i need to consider while do and upgrade? Any thoughts?

thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 09-08-2010, 05:51 PM
 
713 posts, read 3,172,674 times
Reputation: 546
I don't think you will run into any problems. i3 has 1156 pins which the i5 also has so there should not be any problem installing it on your current system board. Just make sure to have an anti static wrist band and some thermal paste on hand when switching out the cpus.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-08-2010, 06:15 PM
 
Location: Pomona
1,955 posts, read 9,665,693 times
Reputation: 1538
It's more than just pin count which makes a board workable or not. The thing is, if your current setup isn't optimal, upgrading the CPU isn't going to offer any real performance gains at all. A good hard drive, memory (speed and quantity), and video card is just as important for the overall performance as is the CPU itself.

What's the exact configuration of your current computer anyways?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-09-2010, 09:56 AM
 
Location: In Phoenix by way of San Antonio
1,682 posts, read 2,751,190 times
Reputation: 1247
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narfcake View Post
It's more than just pin count which makes a board workable or not. The thing is, if your current setup isn't optimal, upgrading the CPU isn't going to offer any real performance gains at all. A good hard drive, memory (speed and quantity), and video card is just as important for the overall performance as is the CPU itself.

What's the exact configuration of your current computer anyways?
Its a Dell N5010 - Model
i3 core
M350 @ 2.27Ghz
4 gb ram
64 bit operation system

Only bout a month old and it preforms well. I should tell you the reason for wanting more performance is cause ima gamer. Lookin to make the switch from xbox to computer gaming. I hope with this information you might be better able to guide me in the right direction.

Thanks.

P.S. There is no way i would try and do this myself
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-09-2010, 11:16 AM
 
Location: Pomona
1,955 posts, read 9,665,693 times
Reputation: 1538
So it's a laptop? Then chances are the bottleneck won't be the CPU, but the graphics.

"The ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5470 is an entry-level / lower middle class DirectX 11 graphics card for laptops."
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5470 - Notebookcheck

Add'l comparisons:
Computer Games on Laptop Graphic Cards - Notebookcheck

Since it's integrated, your only choice is to live with it. Consider building or buying a desktop instead that's more optimized for gaming.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-11-2010, 08:15 PM
 
422 posts, read 652,398 times
Reputation: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by FastFerrari View Post
Its a Dell N5010 - Model
i3 core
M350 @ 2.27Ghz
4 gb ram
64 bit operation system

Only bout a month old and it preforms well. I should tell you the reason for wanting more performance is cause ima gamer. Lookin to make the switch from xbox to computer gaming. I hope with this information you might be better able to guide me in the right direction.

Thanks.

P.S. There is no way i would try and do this myself
Laptop? You likely arent going to be able to do this at all. Laptops are very specific and built so they are not internally upgradable. Also, you simply can't just swap processors like that, you have to make sure that every component in that PC is compatible with the new CPU.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-22-2010, 10:41 PM
 
Location: In Phoenix by way of San Antonio
1,682 posts, read 2,751,190 times
Reputation: 1247
Well thank you guys for the info. Guess it will be easier just to buy a console.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:44 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top