U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
 
Old 10-19-2010, 09:47 PM
 
2,679 posts, read 1,465,620 times
Reputation: 2239

Advertisements

Basically can I send or receive faxes with this all in one printer sans telephone line via my windows xp pc somehow? ? We have VOIP and I don't even remember the last time I had telephone service lol.

Any help is greatly appreciated, I'm buying a house and its getting annoying scanning the many many many many things I have to sign and return, so if I can now fax them it'd be much easier, thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 10-19-2010, 10:41 PM
 
Location: Cartersville, GA
1,085 posts, read 1,247,865 times
Reputation: 780
As far as I know, the only way you can fax without a phone line is to scan documents with the scanner feature, and send them via. an internet faxing service. I have been using Wiredfax for several weeks, and have been pleased with it thus far. You do have to pay a fee for these services, but it's much, much less expensive than a phone line.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-19-2010, 11:09 PM
 
21,136 posts, read 16,734,541 times
Reputation: 9868
ToucheGA is right. I use www.efax.com. For occasional nonprofessional faxes, www.faxzero.com is free.

efax enables you to receive 10 faxes/month free... but costs to send.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-20-2010, 06:55 AM
 
Location: USA
430 posts, read 588,841 times
Reputation: 335
I've had VOIP and an old all-in-one for years. Look at your cable modem. If iyou can connect your fax/all-in-one to the cable modem using a standard phone jack , then you probably can fax using VOIP. You don't even need a PC turned on to use your all-in-one for faxing/photocopying.

If your cable modem does not have a provision for a phone jack, maybe you should inquire from your cable company if they have one that does. Ours was pretty much plug-n-play.

Basically, the idea is to try to connect your old phone line/s to the cable modem, rather than the old land line box. Only now, you're using VOIP instead of POTS.

some old Tips: http://chris.pirillo.com/how-to-fax-...-the-internet/

Last edited by fastninja500; 10-20-2010 at 07:07 AM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:


Over $84,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers

All times are GMT -6.

2005-2014, Advameg, Inc.

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25 - Top