U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 10-28-2010, 06:37 PM
 
Location: Chicago, IL
513 posts, read 1,014,984 times
Reputation: 274

Advertisements

Can you people open this website -> www.realtor.com ? The website is being loaded endlessly on my laptop since I bought it. I go with Win 7, IE 7 and McAfee antivirus/firewall.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 10-28-2010, 07:01 PM
 
11,715 posts, read 36,350,995 times
Reputation: 7514
Download Firefox or Google Chrome and try again.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-28-2010, 07:53 PM
 
28,648 posts, read 40,627,244 times
Reputation: 37346
I've been on it all evening. No problems. Firefox.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-28-2010, 08:20 PM
 
15,924 posts, read 17,659,507 times
Reputation: 7645
Using FF and Safari, no problems with either.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-28-2010, 08:30 PM
 
Location: Tyler, TX
15,210 posts, read 18,499,742 times
Reputation: 8052
Reboot your computer. (seriously though, reboot your computer)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-28-2010, 09:05 PM
 
Location: Chicago, IL
513 posts, read 1,014,984 times
Reputation: 274
rebooting does not help. I do like IE but I'll try with Firefox right away. But I think there is something wrong with my computer since my antivirus expired.

edit

it did help! HOWEVER now I have the same problem that I had some time ago... namely when I search for homes I get: "Oops, there's been a glitch!". Anybody know what this is?

edit

Got it! In IE's settings, I moved up English language over Polish language. Now IE opens the website and searches without any glitch. I can uninstall Firefox now.

Last edited by moskiter; 10-28-2010 at 09:45 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-29-2010, 03:36 AM
 
Location: Tucson for awhile longer
8,874 posts, read 13,819,503 times
Reputation: 29048
Why would you want to uninstall Firefox? I don't know too many people who don't think FF is -- for general usage -- superior to IE. Both realtor.com and Zip Realty load faster for me on both my desktop (Windows XP) and my laptop (Windows 7). But in any case, isn't it always better to have back-up browser installed for situations just like the one you're facing?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-29-2010, 07:16 AM
 
Location: WV and Eastport, ME
11,761 posts, read 11,319,786 times
Reputation: 7712
Quote:
Originally Posted by moskiter View Post
..... Got it! In IE's settings, I moved up English language over Polish language. Now IE opens the website and searches without any glitch. I can uninstall Firefox now.
Dang! You mean American websites work better in English??? Who'd'a thunk it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-29-2010, 08:37 PM
 
Location: Chicago, IL
513 posts, read 1,014,984 times
Reputation: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by mensaguy View Post
Dang! You mean American websites work better in English??? Who'd'a thunk it?
Actually I didn't even know that there was an option to move one language over another... Anyway all other websites worked fine, I had the problem only with realtor.com, so I think this website should do something so that bilingual people wouldn't have to figure out what's going on with their browser...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-29-2010, 09:00 PM
 
Location: Coos Bay, Oregon
7,139 posts, read 9,062,572 times
Reputation: 7748
Quote:
Originally Posted by moskiter View Post
rebooting does not help. I do like IE but I'll try with Firefox right away. But I think there is something wrong with my computer since my antivirus expired.

edit

it did help! HOWEVER now I have the same problem that I had some time ago... namely when I search for homes I get: "Oops, there's been a glitch!". Anybody know what this is?

edit

Got it! In IE's settings, I moved up English language over Polish language. Now IE opens the website and searches without any glitch. I can uninstall Firefox now.
A friendly suggestion, it doesn't hurt to have two browsers. Why not keep Firefox, just incase you have another problem like that. Also change is good. IE is just so... 1990s.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:36 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top