U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 12-27-2010, 02:41 PM
bjh bjh started this thread
Status: "Season's greetings." (set 14 hours ago)
 
Location: Memphis - home of the king
20,503 posts, read 12,379,964 times
Reputation: 93530

Advertisements

..always start up the desktop. Boot up "Welcome" then says "Preparing Desktop" which it doesn't usually say.

Then it opens with a message that it can't find the C: which is NOT external on this machine.

Dell website useless so far. Tried to register, find updates. Site just wants to sell unrelated crap.

Did a disk check the other day and it said all okay.

Did a Windows update too.

Anyone have any ideas or heard of this problem?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 12-27-2010, 07:25 PM
 
Location: NH
7,165 posts, read 9,084,762 times
Reputation: 5363
I'm assuming Windows XP or newer. Turn on the PC, when you see the Dell logo on the screen start tapping the F8 key, when you get the startup menu select "Last known good configuration", post back with the results.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-27-2010, 10:39 PM
 
269 posts, read 506,571 times
Reputation: 146
Can you post the full message/error when it says it can't find C:? I'm guessing it's looking for something that's not there like C:\D&S\%Username%\whatever.exe. Also check the event viewers system logs and make sure there aren't lots of errors marked disk.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-28-2010, 04:47 PM
bjh bjh started this thread
Status: "Season's greetings." (set 14 hours ago)
 
Location: Memphis - home of the king
20,503 posts, read 12,379,964 times
Reputation: 93530
It's Windows 7 bought in May this year.

I will post the full message if it comes up again. The first few months it came up very seldom. Maybe once a month. Recently it's come up about 6 times this month alone.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-28-2010, 04:50 PM
 
Location: NH
7,165 posts, read 9,084,762 times
Reputation: 5363
The full message would help greatly, otherwise we're just guessing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-29-2010, 05:42 AM
 
Location: Wicker Park, Chicago
4,793 posts, read 8,582,872 times
Reputation: 1822
Could it be a loose hd so that it doesn't see C: ?

I have a Dell E1705 and I have multiple hds for this laptop. If one hd install goes bad I just swap out the hd tray and put in another hd to use in the meantime.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-30-2010, 07:17 PM
bjh bjh started this thread
Status: "Season's greetings." (set 14 hours ago)
 
Location: Memphis - home of the king
20,503 posts, read 12,379,964 times
Reputation: 93530
I hope it's not loose, though that may be better than a software problem. Generally, I don't dig around inside my computers. Am not adverse to taking a look.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-30-2010, 07:21 PM
 
Location: NH
7,165 posts, read 9,084,762 times
Reputation: 5363
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjh View Post
I hope it's not loose, though that may be better than a software problem. Generally, I don't dig around inside my computers. Am not adverse to taking a look.
It's not likely the hard drive is loose.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-31-2010, 05:37 PM
bjh bjh started this thread
Status: "Season's greetings." (set 14 hours ago)
 
Location: Memphis - home of the king
20,503 posts, read 12,379,964 times
Reputation: 93530
^
Okay. Thanks for that feedback.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-12-2011, 07:29 PM
bjh bjh started this thread
Status: "Season's greetings." (set 14 hours ago)
 
Location: Memphis - home of the king
20,503 posts, read 12,379,964 times
Reputation: 93530
Here's the message:

Location is Not Available is the heading of the message.

Then there is a red dot with an X and the following message:
C:\windows\system32\config\systemprofile\desktop refers to a location that is not available. It could be a hard drive on this computer or a network. Check to make sure the disk is properly inserted or that you are connected to the internet or to your network, and then try again. If it still cannot be located, the information might have been moved to a different location.

This is when you boot up. Goes to a generic "desktop" that has primitive looking graphics, similar to protected mode. So far, if you reboot it brings up the desktop the 2nd try. So far.

This is just an ordinary laptop, not on a network and never has been. Nothing to do with trying to connect with the internet. This is on boot up only.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $84,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads

All times are GMT -6.

2005-2014, Advameg, Inc.

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25 - Top