U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Thread summary:

Software engineer: programmer, Computer Science degree, job market, web development, Unix server.

Old 08-06-2007, 03:14 PM

52,155 posts, read 30,219,816 times

Advertisements

I'm just curious, do we have any programmers on these forums? I want to see if the rapid change in technology we experienced in the 1990's changed their areas of expertise. I know I graduated with a Bachelor's degree in Computer Science 20 years ago, and what they taught us back then might be considered "Ancient technology" by many people today. Back then, if you knew COBOL/CICS, RPG III or VI, and JCL on the IBM MVS environment, you were guaranteed a job right after you finished school, and that definitely helped me put my foot in the door just 3 months after I graduated.

Over the years, I worked with COBOL, and CICS, on the MVS and the PrimeOS platforms, then around 1988, we gradually started getting away from the mainframes and replaced them with Motorola and Data General Unix distributed systems, and started working with shell scripting, C and C++, Pro-C and ESQL/C, Oracle Forms, Informix 4GL, with Oracle and Informix databases. Later I started using Java, which I hated with a passion when I first started working with it 10 years ago! But Sun improved it and fixed many of the issues and limitations, and it's much better than it was then. I love Perl also and I want to start playing with PHP, which is what these forums are written in.