U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 07-07-2011, 03:02 PM
 
Location: Fairfax County, VA
3,719 posts, read 4,893,914 times
Reputation: 1459

Advertisements

I have a bunch of links that I saved via word document but none of the links are activated as hyperlinks. Is there a way to turn them all into hyperlinks without through every single one of them manually? I have about 30-40 pages so you can understand why I wouldn't want to do it manually, haha. Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 07-07-2011, 03:07 PM
 
333 posts, read 739,238 times
Reputation: 267
Do you have the automatic hyperlink feature enabled?
Create, format, or delete a hyperlink - Word - Office.com
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-07-2011, 03:07 PM
 
Location: HoCo, MD
4,714 posts, read 8,283,666 times
Reputation: 5310
This is the first thing that came up How to Create an Internet Hyperlink in Word 2007 - For Dummies

not sure if that will format existing data though.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-07-2011, 03:22 PM
 
Location: Matthews, NC
14,693 posts, read 23,491,028 times
Reputation: 14344
1. How are the links formatted? If they are formatted as the full URL, i.e. http://www.google.com go to question # 2.
2. Do you have Excel? If so, then copy all the links from Word into Excel. Go to the B1 cell and enter =HYPERLINK(A1). Should convert A1 into a clickable link and the link will be in B1. Do an autofill for the remainder of the cells. Then copy and paste them back into a Word document.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-07-2011, 03:39 PM
 
Location: Fairfax County, VA
3,719 posts, read 4,893,914 times
Reputation: 1459
Quote:
Originally Posted by barney_rubble View Post
Do you have the automatic hyperlink feature enabled?
Create, format, or delete a hyperlink - Word - Office.com
I will have to check.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-07-2011, 03:55 PM
 
333 posts, read 739,238 times
Reputation: 267
If not, bs13690's suggestion is very good.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-07-2011, 05:25 PM
 
Location: Matthews, NC
14,693 posts, read 23,491,028 times
Reputation: 14344
To add to step 1 in my post above, even if the hyperlinks don't have http:// you can probably easily add it to the text once you have pasted it in Excel. I know there is a way to do it but I can't think of what it is from the top of my head.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-08-2011, 06:21 AM
 
28,673 posts, read 40,842,870 times
Reputation: 37401
Quote:
Originally Posted by bs13690 View Post
To add to step 1 in my post above, even if the hyperlinks don't have http:// you can probably easily add it to the text once you have pasted it in Excel. I know there is a way to do it but I can't think of what it is from the top of my head.
If they don't have http:// couldn't you:

1. Make sure the automatic hyperlink feature is enabled

2. Do a search/replace: search for www. and replace with http://www.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-08-2011, 07:27 AM
 
Location: Matthews, NC
14,693 posts, read 23,491,028 times
Reputation: 14344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tek_Freek View Post
If they don't have http:// couldn't you:

1. Make sure the automatic hyperlink feature is enabled

2. Do a search/replace: search for www. and replace with Stats about all US cities - real estate, relocation info, house prices, home value estimator, recent sales, cost of living, crime, race, income, photos, education, maps, weather, houses, schools, neighborhoods, and more.
Yep, search/replace would work. Sometimes, I forget the easy solutions. I was thinking of a more complicated way to do it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-08-2011, 11:32 AM
 
Location: Fairfax County, VA
3,719 posts, read 4,893,914 times
Reputation: 1459
Like I said before, I'd rather not do it manually.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2020, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top