U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 07-13-2011, 07:43 PM
 
Location: Brooklyn
2,868 posts, read 4,205,522 times
Reputation: 5235

Advertisements

Can anyone kind of talk me through changing my OE Internet connect from IE to chrome.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 07-13-2011, 07:48 PM
 
28,631 posts, read 40,613,958 times
Reputation: 37316
Not sure what you mean. Where would you make a change? OE doesn't care what browser you use. It connects through the system on it's own.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-13-2011, 08:22 PM
 
Location: Brooklyn
2,868 posts, read 4,205,522 times
Reputation: 5235
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tek_Freek View Post
Not sure what you mean. Where would you make a change? OE doesn't care what browser you use. It connects through the system on it's own.
I checked under OE options/connection and it claimed that OE shares your Internet connection settings with IE. Maybe I'm misunderstanding, but I thought that when I open OE that it's an explorer connection. I find IE to be much slower in loading than chrome. I pretty much only exclusively use chrome while browsing and hoped if OE opened in chrome it would load up and open much quicker?

There was a change connection button which leads you to a wizard, which I tried. This lead me in a looped dead end. This is where I probably need the guidance. I'm a bit reluctant to change things I don't truly know about.

I appreciate your time and assistance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-13-2011, 09:19 PM
 
11,715 posts, read 36,345,192 times
Reputation: 7514
I think you found the dialog where you can set the dialup and proxy setting, or just have it use the settings configured in IE. IE should be set to use your LAN connection and use no proxy server.

As Tek said, OE is a its own program. It doesn't open in IE. That doesn't even make sense. You don't open a program in a program. OE connects directly to the Internet and doesn't care what web browser you use. As long as Chrome is your default browser, any links you click in OE messages will open in Chrome.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-14-2011, 09:14 AM
 
28,631 posts, read 40,613,958 times
Reputation: 37316
Quote:
Originally Posted by makossa View Post
I checked under OE options/connection and it claimed that OE shares your Internet connection settings with IE. Maybe I'm misunderstanding, but I thought that when I open OE that it's an explorer connection. I find IE to be much slower in loading than chrome. I pretty much only exclusively use chrome while browsing and hoped if OE opened in chrome it would load up and open much quicker?

There was a change connection button which leads you to a wizard, which I tried. This lead me in a looped dead end. This is where I probably need the guidance. I'm a bit reluctant to change things I don't truly know about.

I appreciate your time and assistance.
Microsoft t it's best. So many smart people designing weird software.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-14-2011, 10:29 AM
 
Location: Brooklyn
2,868 posts, read 4,205,522 times
Reputation: 5235
Quote:
Originally Posted by EscapeCalifornia View Post
I think you found the dialog where you can set the dialup and proxy setting, or just have it use the settings configured in IE. IE should be set to use your LAN connection and use no proxy server.

As Tek said, OE is a its own program. It doesn't open in IE. That doesn't even make sense. You don't open a program in a program. OE connects directly to the Internet and doesn't care what web browser you use. As long as Chrome is your default browser, any links you click in OE messages will open in Chrome.
Thanks, there's the answer right there. Thank You for explaining it to me as well, now I get it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:16 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top