U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 07-15-2011, 02:50 PM
 
2,494 posts, read 4,770,112 times
Reputation: 943

Advertisements

I recently set up my friend's new ATT modem and had to call ATT's support.
During this, I think I was asked to create a password but it's NOT the usual ATT password which we use for the modem and also for email. It was different and I've never had to use it.

I wrote this password down but I can't remember what it's for - is it possible that it's only used when you configure the modem and that's it?

Actually, the ATT person gave me one password and specifically said it was onetime only. And I did have to type it just once. But the one I mentioned above is different and I'm not sure what it's for. I was asked to enter a "hint" for this password.

Last edited by robertpasa; 07-15-2011 at 03:10 PM.. Reason: added one thing
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 07-15-2011, 03:31 PM
 
2,494 posts, read 4,770,112 times
Reputation: 943
I just found this page which shows the screens I used. I believe the password I entered was the "PPP" password or DSL Network password, which I've never been asked for.

When would you use the DSL Network password? Do you ever have to type it?

(you have to enter some checkboxes before displaying)

http://www.att.com/esupport/article....id=7Mv-qU3mtmS
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-15-2011, 03:57 PM
 
2,494 posts, read 4,770,112 times
Reputation: 943
I'm also confused about the below article. It says the DSL Network Password is system-generated. However, I thought I created this password during config.

Re: 2wire ask me username and password - AT&T Community Support

(scroll down to where it says [SIZE=2]"2.The DSL Network password is a system-generated password that is used by the modem to authenticate and connect to the network.")

My main concern is, do you ever have to type your DSL Network password, and if so, where?

[/SIZE]
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-15-2011, 05:39 PM
 
2,494 posts, read 4,770,112 times
Reputation: 943
I'm sorry, I made some mistakes in #1 and the first line in #2. I'm pretty sure the password I used was the DSL Network Password. There was no other. The lady gave it to me over the phone and I typed it. She said it was for one time use only.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top