U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 08-24-2007, 02:35 PM
 
Location: Looking over your shoulder
30,582 posts, read 28,252,070 times
Reputation: 82124

Advertisements

I’m having trouble with the video on the old pc. I’ve changed the monitor and it didn’t fix it. I’m looking at changing the video card. Question: do I have to have the “same” card or are video cards interchangeable? I’m using an older Gateway desktop tower, can I buy just any plugin video card?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 08-24-2007, 03:54 PM
 
Location: North of the Cow Pasture and South of the Wind Turbines
857 posts, read 2,687,360 times
Reputation: 2279
There are plenty of cheap generic cards out there and swapping one in is not hard if you have ever pull off the back of the PC - it is easy to identify it is the card with the video port on the back of the card. Before you touch the card touch something else metal to take any static off (not the computer).

I would call Gateway first and see what they recommend and while it might not be the cheapest (never know) they should (ha) guide you to a compatible card. With an older desktop some of the newer cards may have requirements of a specific CPU among other things -

I would also right click on the desktop and click properties - then go to the settings tab - sometimes the settings get mucked up - you might be at a low resolution or your color quality might be off. Are you getting flicker or some color washout etc? Then it is probably the video card. Also an updated driver may help as well. sound's like the card just describe yer symptoms...

Let me know!
Thanks

Last edited by BovinaCowHateWindTurbines; 08-24-2007 at 04:05 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-24-2007, 04:56 PM
 
Location: Looking over your shoulder
30,582 posts, read 28,252,070 times
Reputation: 82124
Sorry I always forget to give the symptoms first.
The monitor shows all graphics and text ok however mainly noticed is that the text has what looks like a “smear to the right side of the letters”. Normally I would thing that the monitor raster is causing it, but after changing the monitor the video card looked more like something to try.

You brought to mind another good point – trying a video driver update. But I don’t think that would cause this “smear or smudge” on the right side of the text letters.

You’re correct with the older generic cards should do the trick since this pc is about 8-10 years old now. I’ll pull the card and see what I find, maybe take it with me to Fry’s Electronics (large discounted store near me). They might be able to put me onto something that they have otherwise I’ll check with some of the repair shops for old parts.

Can you give me a hint on how to identify the driver or remove and reinstall it? And would that be something that might help with this type of failure?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-25-2007, 11:38 AM
 
Location: North of the Cow Pasture and South of the Wind Turbines
857 posts, read 2,687,360 times
Reputation: 2279
If right click properties on the desktop and goto settings - Advanced - it should bring up what driver you are using and install an update - most likely it will default to some Windows generic driver - What you want to look for is the OEM driver and see if it has a link to get an update. At 8-10 years not sure if it will make a difference.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-25-2007, 01:57 PM
 
Location: California
510 posts, read 3,024,000 times
Reputation: 383
Here is a link to a program that I love... System information for Windows SIW Download

This program will tell you pretty much everything about your computer. Before you go to frys (love their prices btw), use this program to find out what kind of motherboard and chipset you have. Find out how much wattage your power source has as well. Depending on what all is installed, you may get into trouble if you have less than 350 watts for a power supply.

One other consideration... you may end up paying $100-$200 for a video card. Dell outlet has scratch and dent, as well as items that were built but never shipped ranging from $300-500... nice systems for cheap. You'll probably also see a $200 computer at frys... not a powerhouse by any means, but it should blow away your old computer.

You could take your old hard drive and slave it to any new system, or just get the data you want off of it. I can't imagine it's a big drive being that old.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-27-2007, 05:38 AM
Yac
 
5,969 posts, read 6,633,710 times
Check the default resolution of your monitor (if it's LCD) and set the same on your computer. It should help.
__________________
Forum Rules
City-Data.com homepage
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-29-2007, 11:23 AM
 
Location: Looking over your shoulder
30,582 posts, read 28,252,070 times
Reputation: 82124
Thanks to all of you for the information and helpful hits on the problem. I’ve found that the video card (original) went bad. I’ve located a similar replacement for as little as $5 and it seems to have corrected the (original) problem. I now need to get the correct drivers downloaded and installed. This will take me a little more time as I’ve got other things going on right now and can’t focus on the pc as much as I’d like.

I hate to put much money into the pc because of the age, the hard drive was changed out about a year ago and it’s about the only thing that is of value in the way of hardware. I’m running XP and enjoy the OS more then I think I’d like with the newer version so I need to try and recover that and get it onto the next new pc that I’ll be looking into soon.

Tnx again for all the help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-31-2007, 12:11 PM
 
Location: California
510 posts, read 3,024,000 times
Reputation: 383
Most vendors offer XP on new stuff now... I wouldn't consider Vista until it reaches the 2 years of age mark myself... the biggest benefit is being able to surpass the max of 4 megs of RAM though.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-31-2007, 12:32 PM
 
Location: Arizona, The American Southwest
52,155 posts, read 30,219,816 times
Reputation: 91136
Quote:
Originally Posted by UseJeff View Post
Most vendors offer XP on new stuff now... I wouldn't consider Vista until it reaches the 2 years of age mark myself... the biggest benefit is being able to surpass the max of 4 megs of RAM though.
4 megs of RAM? LOL.. If you're running Vista or XP on that little memory, I'd like to talk to you and get some advice!

I think you meant 4 gigs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-02-2007, 11:36 PM
 
1,688 posts, read 5,747,428 times
Reputation: 741
I updated to Windows Pro and now my Stand By button is greyed out. I Googled and was reading about device drivers may not be updated but I am not sure exactly how this may done or if this may be another problem. Anyone else ever encountered this?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:33 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top