U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 01-31-2012, 09:21 PM
 
3,614 posts, read 3,090,967 times
Reputation: 909

Advertisements

The old-lady is getting tired of paying $7 a month to rent a modem from Comcast. I figured why not buy our own.

I've never actually had to deal with residential gateways. Do I just plug this sucker in and Comcast gives me an IP address, or do I need to register the MAC with them?

This is the one I'm planning to buy.

Advice appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 01-31-2012, 10:52 PM
 
24,503 posts, read 35,965,437 times
Reputation: 12847
You will need to register your MAC address with them. It takes just a few minutes over the phone.

It's definitely a good decision to purchase your own modem.. and the one you are looking at it the best one to get.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-31-2012, 10:59 PM
 
Location: OH>IL>CO>CT
5,416 posts, read 8,781,614 times
Reputation: 7526
Default MAC address

The user manual is available at
www.midcocomm.com/_files/files/ (broken link)SB6120.pdf

On page 15 it says you need to tell Comcast (the ISP) the MAC barcode # printed on the bottom of the modem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-01-2012, 12:36 AM
 
3,614 posts, read 3,090,967 times
Reputation: 909
Oh balls, I just realized this doesn't have RJ-11 jacks for a landline.

Uh--solutions?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-01-2012, 01:56 AM
 
24,503 posts, read 35,965,437 times
Reputation: 12847
Quote:
Originally Posted by Konraden View Post
Oh balls, I just realized this doesn't have RJ-11 jacks for a landline.

Uh--solutions?
If you're using Comcast for telephone service, then you have but no choice to rent a modem from them.


Offtopic:
If you're looking to save money, you might want to consider VOIP alternatives (such as OOMA) for phone service. OOMA costs a few bucks/month.

Then you can purchase your own cable modem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-01-2012, 08:45 AM
 
Location: Barrington, IL area
1,594 posts, read 2,681,175 times
Reputation: 4950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Konraden View Post
The old-lady is getting tired of paying $7 a month to rent a modem from Comcast. I figured why not buy our own.

I've never actually had to deal with residential gateways. Do I just plug this sucker in and Comcast gives me an IP address, or do I need to register the MAC with them?

This is the one I'm planning to buy.

Advice appreciated.
I have this exact same modem, and it works great. You will need to call Comcast and supply them with the MAC address, and also to have them remove the modem rental fee from your account - you will then need to return your leased modem to a Comcast center.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-01-2012, 11:29 AM
 
Location: OH>IL>CO>CT
5,416 posts, read 8,781,614 times
Reputation: 7526
Default VOIP providers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Konraden View Post
Oh balls, I just realized this doesn't have RJ-11 jacks for a landline.

Uh--solutions?
Vonage ?? Magic Jack ?? Skype ??

more info here:
Internet phones: CNET Editors' guide to VoIP - CNET Reviews
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-01-2012, 01:31 PM
 
Location: Sierra Nevada Land, CA
8,676 posts, read 9,450,900 times
Reputation: 13850
Quote:
Originally Posted by Konraden View Post
The old-lady is getting tired of paying $7 a month to rent a modem from Comcast. I figured why not buy our own.

I've never actually had to deal with residential gateways. Do I just plug this sucker in and Comcast gives me an IP address, or do I need to register the MAC with them?

This is the one I'm planning to buy.

Advice appreciated.
My daughter was going to give me that very modem. Sounded good until I read this:

Motorola sb6120 problem - Comcast Help and Support Forums

I declined her kind offer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:54 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top