U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 02-24-2012, 11:33 AM
 
Location: London, U.K.
3,036 posts, read 3,378,617 times
Reputation: 1723

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by stycotl View Post
do any of you run autodesk programs on snow leopard? maybe this is the issue, if it isn't cs3.

i still have the autodesk 2012 programs on my computer, but they act up as much as 2010 does––though everything with graphics acts up lately. i keep 2010 around because i own a permanent student license for it, and because i actually find it to be less buggy than 2012.

either way, if cs3 isn't ppc, what in the world would the apple technician be telling me that it is and that it has to run through rosetta for? he even ran some test where i had to download a diagnostics program, and then he checked every function of my computer at the time, and he said that it was cs3, autodesk, my wacom tablet drivers (at the time 32-bit), and a few other minor programs that i don't use anymore that were causing the problem. but he was very specific about cs3 being one of the culprits.
I'm running Lion at the moment. Currently I run AutoCAD, Sketchbook designer, and was running Maya until I upgraded. I've had to switch to Cinema 4D and Rhino (both are far better than AutoCAD/Maya). Also the Adobe Master Collection CS 5.5. The only real issue i've had is that AutoCAD won't run smoothly on my macbook aluminium (2008) It can be a bit slow on my iMac as well. Autodesks mac support absolutely sucks seeing that they're tied at the hip with microsoft though. As far as Adobe is concerned I haven't a clue. Try CS 5.5 and see if it still acts up (get the months trial.) I've not experienced this issues you have, could your graphics card be defective? It's got to be a problem with your system not software if you have the latest copies.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 02-24-2012, 12:30 PM
 
Location: Silicon Valley
3,685 posts, read 8,500,721 times
Reputation: 2978
Quote:
Originally Posted by stycotl View Post
do any of you run autodesk programs on snow leopard? maybe this is the issue, if it isn't cs3.
How can you not know which program is causing the problem??? The mere presence of a piece of software on your system isn't likely to cause the sort of problems you've been describing. Sometimes installing software will make changes to your system, or leave background processes (daemons) running that could cause problems, but this is rare, and the symptoms are usually different than what you've been experiencing.

Quote:
either way, if cs3 isn't ppc, what in the world would the apple technician be telling me that it is and that it has to run through rosetta for? he even ran some test where i had to download a diagnostics program, and then he checked every function of my computer at the time, and he said that it was cs3, autodesk, my wacom tablet drivers (at the time 32-bit), and a few other minor programs that i don't use anymore that were causing the problem. but he was very specific about cs3 being one of the culprits.
He's clueless.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-20-2012, 02:36 PM
 
Location: vagabond
2,631 posts, read 4,980,196 times
Reputation: 1307
Quote:
Originally Posted by archineer View Post
Autodesks mac support absolutely sucks seeing that they're tied at the hip with microsoft though.
definitely, i have noticed the same thing. the sad thing is that their windows products aren't much better. they never seem to fix the bugs in previous editions, but just overlap everything with new and sometimes redundant features.

reminds me of the federal government.

Quote:
As far as Adobe is concerned I haven't a clue. Try CS 5.5 and see if it still acts up (get the months trial.)
the problem is that i would have to fully uninstall all of my cs3 and 2010 autodesk programs (among others) in order to test this, because adobe and autodesk programs run little daemons that boot up and start running rosetta as soon as you turn your computer on.

Quote:
I've not experienced this issues you have, could your graphics card be defective? It's got to be a problem with your system not software if you have the latest copies.
after the second time they replaced my logic board and i still had the same issues, i told them specifically not to just replace the logic board again, but to try something new, and i cited internet sources that complain about apple's crappy quality graphic cards in the 2011 series.

they still just replaced the logic board.

and yes, i do run updates for my software, but it is still older software.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MediocreButArrogant View Post
How can you not know which program is causing the problem???
the same way that someone who is not an auto mechanic might not know which system is causing them to lose fuel efficiency.

what's your point?

Quote:
The mere presence of a piece of software on your system isn't likely to cause the sort of problems you've been describing.
nope, but the operation of those programs would, if there was an inherent problem with them.

Quote:
Sometimes installing software will make changes to your system, or leave background processes (daemons) running that could cause problems,
this is what i was told both adobe and autodesk products do.

Quote:
but this is rare, and the symptoms are usually different than what you've been experiencing.
like what?

Quote:
He's clueless.
i'm not writing him off as a fraud just yet, though i am suspicious.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:04 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top