U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 07-09-2012, 02:47 PM
 
2,518 posts, read 4,825,600 times
Reputation: 951

Advertisements

If you have a Windows computer with DSL -

You can change the DNS server address settings on the computer with Control Panel > Networking, but can you also change it on the setup screens for the DSL modem?

I think you can, but in both places, it's usually set for "automatically", is that right?

(I Googled "DSL Change DNS" and most of the articles just said to change it in the computer.)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 07-09-2012, 02:51 PM
 
Location: 10110001010110100
6,400 posts, read 10,913,258 times
Reputation: 5597
Computer is the best place especially if you have only one machine or if the other computers (laptops) are used in other networks then you would want to do it on the router. You do not set anything up on the cable/DSL modem unless it also has integrated router functionality built in.
If you have nothing on your network other than a plain DSL/Cable modem and your computer, then the only place you could configure it would be on the computer (START > RUN > ncpa.cpl > OK then right-click on Local Area Network > Properties > select Internet Protocol (IP) 4 > Properties button). This settings is normally set to automatic much like DHCP setting and you really shouldn't mess with it unless you know what you are doing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-09-2012, 02:59 PM
 
2,518 posts, read 4,825,600 times
Reputation: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurcoLoco View Post
Computer is the best place especially if you have only one machine or if the other computers (laptops) are used in other networks then you would want to do it on the router. You do not set anything up on the cable/DSL modem unless it also has integrated router functionality built in.
If you have nothing on your network other than a plain DSL/Cable modem and your computer, then the only place you could configure it would be on the computer (START > RUN > ncpa.cpl > OK then right-click on Local Area Network > Properties > select Internet Protocol (IP) 4 > Properties button). This settings is normally set to automatic much like DHCP setting and you really shouldn't mess with it unless you know what you are doing.
Thank you!

If you have a DSL modem that is also a wifi router, and just one computer, would you also just set up the DNS on just the computer?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-09-2012, 05:57 PM
 
Location: Metro Washington DC
13,488 posts, read 20,582,395 times
Reputation: 8207
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertpasa View Post
Thank you!

If you have a DSL modem that is also a wifi router, and just one computer, would you also just set up the DNS on just the computer?
Yes. That's what he said. Me, i have multiple computers so I set it (I use opendns on my network) on the router, but with only one you just set it on the computer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-10-2012, 12:50 AM
 
Location: Powell, Oh
1,847 posts, read 4,174,291 times
Reputation: 1074
The best place to do it is the router. Your router acts like a DHCP server. It hands out any options to the clients that get an address. So when it gives out an IP, it will also tell them what DNS server to use.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-12-2012, 01:12 PM
 
16,308 posts, read 25,404,353 times
Reputation: 8305
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianjb View Post
The best place to do it is the router. Your router acts like a DHCP server. It hands out any options to the clients that get an address. So when it gives out an IP, it will also tell them what DNS server to use.
^^^ This

And anything else that connects, such as smartphones, Kindles, smart TV's, will also be configured with the DNS you choose, which in the case of OpenDNS (and others) offers another layer of protection to keep you off of known sites that are serving up viruses, trojans, etc.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2020, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top