U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 10-12-2007, 04:32 PM
 
537 posts, read 338,114 times
Reputation: 182

Advertisements

I bought, last year sometime, a SanDisk Flash Drive that is 4GB and U3Smart.

This afternoon I finally was ready to use it to do a quick transfer of a couple of programs to my new laptop. I plugged it into a USB port, which are USB 2, and it shows up when I run Computer Manager to look at Disk Drives. The problem is that when I run Windows Explorer to find the drive so that I can copy some programs onto it I am not able to see it. What am I doing wrong please or what is it that I need to do so that I can see it and actually use it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 10-12-2007, 06:54 PM
 
28,602 posts, read 40,583,741 times
Reputation: 37231
Any slots in your PC for camera chips? How the printer? Any slots there? Any mapped networked drives?

If the answer to any of the above is yes, then go ahead and click on the first letter that isn't a CD or DVD drive and see what displays. It might be the flash drive.

You can also go to Control Panel/Administrative Tools/Computer Management/Disk Management and see all the drives Windows sees.

In this program you can change drive letters. I normally change any device that defaults to that first letter after the last CD or DVD to the end of the list. This allows the flash drive to grab the cleared letter. This may seem redundant, but try it anyway. If it doesn't help you can always change it back...

To do this right-click the gray area that has the drive listed on the right half of the screen. The top item on the menu should be Change Drive Letters and Paths. Click on this. On the resulting screen click Change... Using the drop-down list pick the first available letter other than the one you are changing. Click OK.

You may need to changed a mapped drive from E: or F: to M: or Z: to get the flash drive seen in WE.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-13-2007, 09:13 AM
 
537 posts, read 338,114 times
Reputation: 182
Tried all of the above and yet, it still does not show up as a drive. I can see it under Computer Management and format it and all but that is all.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-13-2007, 02:54 PM
 
28,602 posts, read 40,583,741 times
Reputation: 37231
Did you buy it on eBay?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-13-2007, 02:58 PM
 
28,602 posts, read 40,583,741 times
Reputation: 37231
Does it show as online and active in Computer Management?

Have you looked through the Event Viewer for any errors when you plug it in?

Do you hear the "ba doonk" when you plug it in?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-14-2007, 05:43 PM
 
537 posts, read 338,114 times
Reputation: 182
OK, I was wrong, I had bought it this past May.

I can see it under Computer Management. It works fine on my laptop but not my desktop so it is not formatting or anything like that since it works fine on the laptop.

Got any ideas?

No, I bought it at Best Buy.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-15-2007, 09:14 AM
 
28,602 posts, read 40,583,741 times
Reputation: 37231
Do you have any other USB devices that you use on the desktop?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-15-2007, 06:16 PM
 
537 posts, read 338,114 times
Reputation: 182
I have a USB keyboard and it works fine, as does my camera and all of my other USB devices. In fact, my desktop works and all that are part of it work just fine and as they always have.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-15-2007, 09:27 PM
 
28,602 posts, read 40,583,741 times
Reputation: 37231
So the original format was done on the laptop? I assume this since the desktop won't see it.

Try formatting the drive from the Disk Management Panel on the desktop. Maybe that will work... sure can't hurt. Right click drive the right panel. Format is on the menu.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-16-2007, 08:20 AM
 
537 posts, read 338,114 times
Reputation: 182
I tried that and it does not work. I am assuming that it will never work on my desktop. I can't see why this thing will not work on my desktop but works fine on my laptop.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:24 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top