U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 02-27-2013, 08:57 AM
 
Location: North Carolina
1,077 posts, read 3,184,979 times
Reputation: 891

Advertisements

I bought a Dell Optiplex 9010 with the Intel HD Graphics 400 chip set. It came with 1 VGA output and two displayports. What would be the best way to run extended dual monitors?

Is it possible to hook one monitor to each of the displayports and extend them?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 02-27-2013, 09:10 AM
 
Location: Matthews, NC
14,693 posts, read 23,409,501 times
Reputation: 14344
You need to have a monitor with a cable that connects to the display port. You can probably get an adapter.

Re: Three monitors on OptiPlex 9010 - Desktop General Hardware Forum - Desktop - Dell Community
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-27-2013, 07:37 PM
 
1,699 posts, read 3,638,120 times
Reputation: 3911
Since the graphics card has two displayports, you can most likely get a couple of displayport to hdmi or displayport to dvi adapters and hook two monitors up, depending on what sort of inputs your monitor supports. You'll need to make sure that you have updated drivers for the Intel graphics card installed, and also you'll at least need to have Windows 7 Home Premium if you are using Windows 7 - certain editions of Windows 7 and Vista don't support extended displays.

You may find this link helpful:

Graphics — Multiple Displays FAQ
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-02-2019, 12:16 PM
 
10,963 posts, read 15,265,188 times
Reputation: 5211
Quote:
Originally Posted by k9coach View Post
Since the graphics card has two displayports, you can most likely get a couple of displayport to hdmi or displayport to dvi adapters and hook two monitors up, depending on what sort of inputs your monitor supports.
We have two monitors, one is 16:9 aspect ratio and the other is 16:10 so can they be used together on the same system? Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-02-2019, 01:34 PM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
11,853 posts, read 13,984,286 times
Reputation: 8083
Yes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top