U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 06-06-2013, 06:32 PM
 
Location: Pennsylvania
16,787 posts, read 10,703,766 times
Reputation: 29778

Advertisements

This is probably so simple but I can't figure it out. (Does that tell you something?)


When I logged on to my puter this morning, everything was fine and dandy.
This afternoon, the image won't expand to take up the whole screen. That's probably not the right way to put it-hope it make sense.
I've clicked on the green 'button' on the top left. All that does is make it smaller; when clicked on again, it still won't enlarge it to fit the screen.


I've also done a restart, & turned the puter off and on again. Not sure what happened to change it but how can I get it back?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 06-06-2013, 10:33 PM
 
Location: OH>IL>CO>CT
5,416 posts, read 8,785,262 times
Reputation: 7531
In 6 years of using a Mini, never had this problem. Perhaps others can help with a little more info

Is the desktop filling the screen ??

Are all applications not expanding, or only one ??

Digital or analog monitor ??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-07-2013, 07:07 AM
 
Location: Metro Washington DC
13,325 posts, read 20,374,795 times
Reputation: 7997
Can't you just drag on the corners or sides and make it whatever size you want? That's what I do when this happens.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-07-2013, 07:58 AM
 
Location: Pennsylvania
16,787 posts, read 10,703,766 times
Reputation: 29778
Quote:
Originally Posted by reed303 View Post
In 6 years of using a Mini, never had this problem. Perhaps others can help with a little more info

Is the desktop filling the screen ??

Are all applications not expanding, or only one ??

Digital or analog monitor ??
Desktop is filling the screen as is the mahjong game in my top sites. Nothing else.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-07-2013, 08:01 AM
 
Location: Pennsylvania
16,787 posts, read 10,703,766 times
Reputation: 29778
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkf747 View Post
Can't you just drag on the corners or sides and make it whatever size you want? That's what I do when this happens.
nope-the whole thing moves.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-07-2013, 12:47 PM
 
Location: Not far from Fairbanks, AK
16,724 posts, read 29,321,260 times
Reputation: 12539
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAhippo View Post
Desktop is filling the screen as is the mahjong game in my top sites. Nothing else.
Quit all applications, or just re-start your computer. See what happens then.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-07-2013, 01:06 PM
 
Location: Pennsylvania
16,787 posts, read 10,703,766 times
Reputation: 29778
I tried that. No change.


sigh
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-07-2013, 01:40 PM
 
Location: OH>IL>CO>CT
5,416 posts, read 8,785,262 times
Reputation: 7531
Found this info just now. News to me.

Why doesn’t Mac OS X’s green Zoom button maximize windows? | MacYourself

Take a look and see if this is what you are experiencing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-07-2013, 05:18 PM
 
Location: Metro Washington DC
13,325 posts, read 20,374,795 times
Reputation: 7997
Quote:
Originally Posted by PAhippo View Post
nope-the whole thing moves.
Then you're doing it wrong. Re-sizing the windows with the mouse on the corners or edges works every time on Mac OSX.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-07-2013, 05:19 PM
 
Location: Metro Washington DC
13,325 posts, read 20,374,795 times
Reputation: 7997
Quote:
Originally Posted by reed303 View Post
Found this info just now. News to me.

Why doesn’t Mac OS X’s green Zoom button maximize windows? | MacYourself

Take a look and see if this is what you are experiencing.
That's interesting. I don't like that because I zoom in on many websites. I need the full window, not just the part OSX decides I need.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:37 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top