U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 06-19-2013, 11:56 PM
 
Location: Griffin, Georgia
747 posts, read 1,837,613 times
Reputation: 706

Advertisements

So we decided to upgrade to the at and t "u verse bundle" and getter better and faster Internet as a result. The guy said 12 mgH per second and we started out with DSL Xtreme hi-speed which was 6 mgH per sec. Now the scroll bars move sluggishly and sometimes the status bar shows "not responding" which is enough to make me wanna go postal! it is so irritating! I did disk cleanup yesterday but it hasn't helped much. Any suggestions?
it feels like circa 1998 dial-up all over again

oh and btw I own a Dell Inspiron e1505

thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 06-20-2013, 12:00 AM
 
11,715 posts, read 36,341,277 times
Reputation: 7514
That sounds more like a computer problem. Its pretty old.

Go to speedtest.net and test a few local servers at different times of day. That'll tell you how fast your Internet connection is. But a fast Internet connection + a slow computer = slow overall experience.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-20-2013, 12:05 AM
 
15,924 posts, read 17,652,520 times
Reputation: 7645
(first)
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoky_topaz View Post
So we decided to upgrade to the at and t "u verse bundle" and getter better and faster Internet as a result. The guy said 12 mgH per second and we started out with DSL Xtreme hi-speed which was 6 mgH per sec. Now the scroll bars move sluggishly and sometimes the status bar shows "not responding" which is enough to make me wanna go postal! it is so irritating! I did disk cleanup yesterday but it hasn't helped much. Any suggestions?
it feels like circa 1998 dial-up all over again

oh and btw I own a Dell Inspiron e1505

thanks
NFN, it's either MB/s (bytes) or Mb/s (bits), mgh (mg/h) refers to milligrams per hour..... Should we assume scroll and status bars refer to an Internet browser?

Have you contacted "the guy"? or AT&T support?

Please go to (first) http://www.att.com/speedtest/ then speedtest.net, run the tests and post your results please....

Windows? Linux? other? what OS and version?

Have you seen these?

http://www.att.com/support_media/ima...AM_Gateway.pdf

http://www.att.com/esupport/article....id=wRQ8w32jKKP

https://getsocial.att.com/docs/DOC-1312 <---- Change wireless channel

http://www.att.com/esupport/article....id=wRQ8w32jKKP

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r282...VERSE-INTERNET

Last edited by plwhit; 06-20-2013 at 12:17 AM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-20-2013, 12:22 AM
 
Location: Griffin, Georgia
747 posts, read 1,837,613 times
Reputation: 706
I have Windows Vista, and a Windows experience index base score of 3.0.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-20-2013, 12:23 AM
 
15,924 posts, read 17,652,520 times
Reputation: 7645
Quote:
Originally Posted by EscapeCalifornia View Post
That sounds more like a computer problem. Its pretty old.

Go to speedtest.net and test a few local servers at different times of day. That'll tell you how fast your Internet connection is. But a fast Internet connection + a slow computer = slow overall experience.
HUH? Faster Internet connection on the same system = slower?

That system does have an 802.11g NIC (Broadcom Corporation BCM4311 wireless controller)

Clueless as to what the OP does with his system and whats running on it when it's slow, just blame it on "old hardware"...

~sheesh~

Yeah, he should trash it and buy either a Dell Latitude 6430u or a Dell Inspiron 17-3721 to handle those lightning-fast 12MB/s speeds.....

I noticed with my recent move from TW 15MB/s to Cox's 50MB/s my 8 year old single core ASUS system is now 10x slower browsing the web....

Last edited by plwhit; 06-20-2013 at 12:39 AM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-20-2013, 12:33 AM
 
15,924 posts, read 17,652,520 times
Reputation: 7645
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoky_topaz View Post
I have Windows Vista, and a Windows experience index base score of 3.0.
That has squat to do with Internet speeds.....

So what are the speed test results?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-20-2013, 12:39 AM
 
24,503 posts, read 35,971,486 times
Reputation: 12847
Quote:
Originally Posted by plwhit View Post
(first)

NFN, it's either MB/s (bytes) or Mb/s (bits), mgh (mg/h) refers to milligrams per hour..... Should we assume scroll and status bars refer to an Internet browser?
FYI, you misquoted the OP. He had mgH. If you take that to be mg/H, then it refers to milligrams per henry. However, in SI notation, mgH is milligram-henry. Similar to how kWh is kilowatt-hour.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-20-2013, 12:40 AM
 
11,715 posts, read 36,341,277 times
Reputation: 7514
Quote:
Originally Posted by plwhit View Post
That has squat to do with Internet speeds.....

So what are the speed test results?
He has Vista running on a Core 2 laptop, either of which easily get bogged down in 2013.

Who knows what kind of crap software AT&T told him to install when he switched from DSL Extreme.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-20-2013, 12:44 AM
 
15,924 posts, read 17,652,520 times
Reputation: 7645
Quote:
Originally Posted by EscapeCalifornia View Post
Who knows what kind of crap software AT&T told him to install when he switched from DSL Extreme.
Well wouldn't it be nice to ask first instead of blaming it on "old hardware"?

BTW, either way you slice it the OP needed to have clarified what Internet speeds are designated as instead of the 'ol "you need new hardware" story....

EC, I know you ain't that lazy to not ask any questions before giving advice.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-20-2013, 06:33 AM
 
Location: Metro Washington DC
13,325 posts, read 20,374,795 times
Reputation: 7997
Quote:
Originally Posted by EscapeCalifornia View Post
He has Vista running on a Core 2 laptop, either of which easily get bogged down in 2013.
That may be true, but it is not likely to affect internet speed. I have an e1405 running Win 7, but used to run Vista. It's slow when using software, but not on the internet.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:34 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top