U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 07-07-2013, 03:59 PM
 
Location: Coast of Somewhere Beautiful
2,362 posts, read 4,712,672 times
Reputation: 5937

Advertisements

I've got a Cisco Valet M10 wireless router that's about 16 months old and thus out of warranty. Firmware is up to date. Up until a week or so ago, it ran fine with no issues at all. My problem comes when I power up in the morning. All of the lights on the unit begin flashing, but never go into a start-up and connection sequence. Initially, I could reboot the router and it would start up fine and then run with no issues. The last few days, I have had to disconnect and reconnect the power cord 8-10 times to get it to begin a normal start-up sequence. I'm afraid it's on a slippery slope toward total failure, but that seems like a short life even for cheap electronics. Any suggestions other than buy a replacement? Thanks very much for your help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 07-07-2013, 04:11 PM
 
Location: OH>IL>CO>CT
5,416 posts, read 8,783,431 times
Reputation: 7526
Does your unit have a "paper clip" reset button ?? Sometimes ours (Net Gear, not Cisco) gets "confused" to where a power cycle does not help, but the reset button (with power on) does. Apparently it needs to clear something that is saved during a power cycle only.

YMMV.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-07-2013, 04:43 PM
 
Location: Coast of Somewhere Beautiful
2,362 posts, read 4,712,672 times
Reputation: 5937
Thanks for the suggestion. I had not tried the reset, but that didn't get it. The console lights continued to flash while I depressing the reset button for about a minute but it still would not boot up after I released the button. Took several power reboots to get it going again.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-07-2013, 06:54 PM
 
Location: SF Bay Area
13,343 posts, read 17,774,576 times
Reputation: 19664
Have you tried this?
1) With the unit powered on, press and hold the reset button on back of unit for 10 seconds, then
2) Without releasing the reset button, unplug the unit and hold reset for another 10 seconds, then
3) Plug the unit back in STILL holding the reset button a final 10 seconds
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-08-2013, 07:11 AM
 
Location: Metro Washington DC
13,322 posts, read 20,371,757 times
Reputation: 7995
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaypee View Post
Have you tried this?
1) With the unit powered on, press and hold the reset button on back of unit for 10 seconds, then
2) Without releasing the reset button, unplug the unit and hold reset for another 10 seconds, then
3) Plug the unit back in STILL holding the reset button a final 10 seconds
You need 3 hands to do that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-08-2013, 12:14 PM
 
Location: Coast of Somewhere Beautiful
2,362 posts, read 4,712,672 times
Reputation: 5937
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkf747 View Post
You need 3 hands to do that.
Got that right! When I tried this, I kept lookin' around to see if I was on Candid Camera.

Anyway... thanks jaypee but nothing changed. That reset my router, but after I was done I shut down entirely, killed the power, and started back up. All the lights on the router were flashing but no start-up sequence. 3 or 4 times with the power cord and it finally started up. I'm guessin' it's dying but I appreciate the suggestion.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-08-2013, 12:38 PM
 
Location: SF Bay Area
13,343 posts, read 17,774,576 times
Reputation: 19664
I forgot step 4)

- with your toes pointed in a northeasterly direction, exert blunt force on the router with a hammer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-08-2013, 03:50 PM
 
Location: Coast of Somewhere Beautiful
2,362 posts, read 4,712,672 times
Reputation: 5937
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaypee View Post
...exert blunt force on the router with a hammer.
OK, that might have fixed it 'cause the lights stopped blinking. But now I've got a minor issue with my Internet connection.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-09-2013, 11:59 AM
 
28,619 posts, read 40,600,178 times
Reputation: 37291
And plastic pieces to clean up?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top