U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 07-09-2013, 05:29 PM
 
28,627 posts, read 40,609,166 times
Reputation: 37303

Advertisements

That looks like the system is adjusting the video. Maybe.

Have you looked at what items are starting with Windows?

Have you looked through the list of installed programs?

A quick way to do both is to download and install Ccleaner. It is a good program that a lot of techs here use. By clicking the Tools icon at the left you can access the Startup and Installed programs. If you aren't sure what they are you can also copy the list(s) to a text file then copy paste that to a post here and the techs will look it over.

Ccleaner. This takes you to the page at filehippo.com where the link to download is at the top right corner. Filehippo is a safe site that I've used for years ( The same can be said for Ccleaner). Click on the download area and wait for the gray dialog box to open. Don't click anything unless it's in that box. The rest is self-explanatory.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 07-09-2013, 07:35 PM
 
Location: Not.here
2,828 posts, read 3,673,050 times
Reputation: 2355
TF... on the startup the only thing running is MSE.

Today I ran the Windows startup repair test off the Windows 7 CD, but it didn't find anything.

There are a lot of people that report having problems with "Windows flashes at startup" for Vista and Win 7...... but I haven't come across anyone reporting a solution yet. After trying different things, some of them say their next step is to reinstall. One of these days that's what I'll probably do too.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-10-2013, 06:32 AM
 
28,627 posts, read 40,609,166 times
Reputation: 37303
Unless you've done some tweaking MSE is not the only thing running at startup.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-10-2013, 09:17 AM
 
Location: Not.here
2,828 posts, read 3,673,050 times
Reputation: 2355
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tek_Freek View Post
Unless you've done some tweaking MSE is not the only thing running at startup.
Sorry, bad choice of words. Meant to say that Microsoft Security Client is the only program enabled in Startup (using Ccleaner).

Last night I disabled it so there was nothing showing enabled in Startup, then restarted the pc, but it still flashed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-10-2013, 11:18 AM
 
28,627 posts, read 40,609,166 times
Reputation: 37303
Thanks. I wondered when you said that. Is the resolution set to "native" and do you know what the native resolution is on that computer?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-10-2013, 01:03 PM
 
Location: Not.here
2,828 posts, read 3,673,050 times
Reputation: 2355
It's set to the native resolution 1920 X 1080.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-10-2013, 02:13 PM
 
28,627 posts, read 40,609,166 times
Reputation: 37303
Okay. It's past me. It does seem strange that it wasn't doing at first.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-10-2013, 04:18 PM
 
Location: 10110001010110100
6,385 posts, read 10,845,994 times
Reputation: 5589
If it is not profile based issue then, it might be a glitch with a device driver. Are you using the video card drivers you downloaded and installed from the chipset manufacturer's web site or is it using the drivers that Windows itself installed?
If it is an Nvidia card, use the latest GeForce, if it is a Radeon, use the latest ATI drivers. If it is an integrated video card, download it from the motherboard or computer vendor's web site.

The latter often can cause problems or glitches, not to mention preventing all supported resolution settings from being available in the list.

I'd also recommend checking the Event Viewer logs to see if anything reported as "error" under application or system. Start > Run > eventvwr.msc > OK > Windows Logs:
- Application
- System

Last edited by TurcoLoco; 07-10-2013 at 04:29 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-11-2013, 09:01 AM
 
Location: Not.here
2,828 posts, read 3,673,050 times
Reputation: 2355
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurcoLoco View Post
If it is not profile based issue then, it might be a glitch with a device driver. Are you using the video card drivers you downloaded and installed from the chipset manufacturer's web site or is it using the drivers that Windows itself installed?
If it is an Nvidia card, use the latest GeForce, if it is a Radeon, use the latest ATI drivers. If it is an integrated video card, download it from the motherboard or computer vendor's web site.

The latter often can cause problems or glitches, not to mention preventing all supported resolution settings from being available in the list.

I'd also recommend checking the Event Viewer logs to see if anything reported as "error" under application or system. Start > Run > eventvwr.msc > OK > Windows Logs:
- Application
- System
Your last post was the clincher.

It reminded me that after trying all these other things, I hadn't done that. I have integrated video on this HP desktop. Went to the HP website and downloaded video drivers. Sure enough, the Windows drivers that were installed were the cause. This pc did not originally ship with Windows 7. It was XP. I guess when they installed Windows 7, they let Windows install the drivers. Anyway, it's back to normal now. THANK YOU!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-11-2013, 12:13 PM
 
Location: 10110001010110100
6,385 posts, read 10,845,994 times
Reputation: 5589
You are welcome, glad it helped you steer in the right direction. Your post #10 and especially, Tek's post #11 switched on my bulb so you should give him the credit!

I never liked Windows version of device drivers, especially for video. To my surprise, I found out that (for some of the laptops) if you use Windows installed video drivers, you are not able to use the Projector as the VGA/HDMI out ports do not function properly! Always wiser to use vendor provided drivers, more so in the case of integrated video cards and laptops.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top