U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 07-10-2013, 12:52 PM
 
Location: Forests of Maine
31,146 posts, read 50,314,105 times
Reputation: 19849

Advertisements

How are the other units?

Could you run a cat-5 from his router, to your unit?

If the other units are having the same issue, then you could run the cat-5 to your unit and from there install a second router.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 07-10-2013, 08:21 PM
 
Location: Gold Country CA
230 posts, read 618,179 times
Reputation: 127
I don't have a wifi cell phone, unfortunately. Landlord repositioned his router and this morning I was almost normal again -- now, several hours later and home from work I'm back to square one. Intermittent signal -- what a drag.

No one else has wifi here currently, and the router is in a different building, making a cat-5 not an option. No phone wiring either, so I can't even get dialup.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-11-2013, 12:01 PM
 
13,072 posts, read 11,578,065 times
Reputation: 2608
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoberPup View Post
I don't have a wifi cell phone, unfortunately. Landlord repositioned his router and this morning I was almost normal again -- now, several hours later and home from work I'm back to square one. Intermittent signal -- what a drag.

No one else has wifi here currently, and the router is in a different building, making a cat-5 not an option. No phone wiring either, so I can't even get dialup.
I don't know the details of your environment, or the specific issues you are having with the signal, but a "possible" option may be to install a wireless repeater somewhere in between you and the RG. May or may not work, but thought I would throw that out there.

As someone else mentioned, analyze the strength of your signal with a phone app and look to see if there is a place you can put the repeater in between you and the main office that is secure and it may be all you need. Problem is... where is the drop off of the signal and is there anywhere you can place it where it will be relatively secure?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-11-2013, 02:22 PM
 
28,622 posts, read 40,604,922 times
Reputation: 37303
Just throwing this out there:

Wasn't there a thread (it's been quite a while) about building a really good antenna for receiving weak signals?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-11-2013, 03:26 PM
 
13,072 posts, read 11,578,065 times
Reputation: 2608
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tek_Freek View Post
Just throwing this out there:

Wasn't there a thread (it's been quite a while) about building a really good antenna for receiving weak signals?
Do you remember how they purposed to attach it? You can buy antenna boosters, but I think the device has to have some means of supporting it and doing a little reading around, I noticed another person having issues with the poor signal (apparently those devices have a range of 625 sqft) of the ATT modems and the only solutions they were given were to use an additional wireless router with better range capabilities connected to it.

A repeater may be the only cost effective solution (if he is able to place it appropriately).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-29-2014, 04:56 PM
 
Location: Gold Country CA
230 posts, read 618,179 times
Reputation: 127
Default Problem solved FINALLY

After 2 years and many dollars spent on adapters, repeaters, whiskey (JK on that one) I finally found a device that works PERFECTLY. It's an IdeaWorks Long Distance WiFi Antenna that I found on Walmart.Com for under $40. Instead of a signal which makes dialup look fast, I now have an almost constant excellent speed and signal. I'm so happy I could almost cry!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:42 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top