U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 07-27-2013, 05:04 AM
 
1,199 posts, read 1,854,294 times
Reputation: 1325

Advertisements

Windows Vista 6.0, IE 9.0, Dell Inspiron desktop. I am unable to open IE by double clicking on Icon or right click on icon and click open home page. Using both these messages I get; "IE has stopped working. A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available". Windows never advises a solution.
However I can hit start, click on IE and IE opens every time with no problems.
Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 07-27-2013, 06:16 AM
 
Location: Canada
6,020 posts, read 4,406,271 times
Reputation: 16410
I don't know what it was that caused it, but I had that problem. I couldn't open IE at all. I know nothing about the inner workings of computers and took my PC to a computer repair shop. It cost me $74, but it works fine now. Well worth the money spent. Good luck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-27-2013, 08:07 AM
 
Location: Not.here
2,828 posts, read 3,674,119 times
Reputation: 2355
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluecomet View Post
Windows Vista 6.0, IE 9.0, Dell Inspiron desktop. I am unable to open IE by double clicking on Icon or right click on icon and click open home page. Using both these messages I get; "IE has stopped working. A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available". Windows never advises a solution.
However I can hit start, click on IE and IE opens every time with no problems.
Any suggestions?
It sounds like you are talking about the icon (chortcut) on your desktop.

I would try creating another icon on the desktop to see if a new one works.

Start
click on All Programs
right click Internet Explorer
click Send to
click Desktop (create a shortcut)

Then go back to your desktop and click on the new IE icon. If it works, just delete the old IE icon from the desktop.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-27-2013, 12:05 PM
 
28,638 posts, read 40,617,860 times
Reputation: 37346
^ This. Except I would delete the non-working icon first. What do you have to lose other than a non-working icon?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-29-2013, 05:57 AM
 
10,755 posts, read 18,013,891 times
Reputation: 10244
I bad shortcut usually won't cause the OP's issue, IE is starting but then crashing.
Go to Start > All Programs > Accessories > System Tools and Run Internet Explorer (No Add-Ons) and see if it starts. If so you likely have a bad BHO. Post back with the results and we can advise from there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-29-2013, 08:44 AM
 
Location: Greensboro, NC
5,896 posts, read 4,421,807 times
Reputation: 3934
Quote:
Originally Posted by NHDave View Post
I bad shortcut usually won't cause the OP's issue, IE is starting but then crashing.
Go to Start > All Programs > Accessories > System Tools and Run Internet Explorer (No Add-Ons) and see if it starts. If so you likely have a bad BHO. Post back with the results and we can advise from there.
Actually I have had this to happen with a corrupted shortcut. A simple deletion of the shortcut and replacing the shortcut from the programs menu corrected the problem. That's the simplest thing to start with first.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-29-2013, 08:49 AM
 
10,755 posts, read 18,013,891 times
Reputation: 10244
Quote:
Originally Posted by skinsguy37 View Post
Actually I have had this to happen with a corrupted shortcut. A simple deletion of the shortcut and replacing the shortcut from the programs menu corrected the problem. That's the simplest thing to start with first.
Can't say I've ever seen that, but I'll take your word for it. Windows never surprises me with it's oddities.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-29-2013, 08:58 AM
 
Location: Greensboro, NC
5,896 posts, read 4,421,807 times
Reputation: 3934
Quote:
Originally Posted by NHDave View Post
Can't say I've ever seen that, but I'll take your word for it. Windows never surprises me with it's oddities.
Yeah, I've seen it before - especially in Vista. I don't know why or how the shortcut gets corrupted, but that's how I've fixed it. Of course, you could be right as well. My ultimate fix is to just say ********* I.E. and use either Firefox or Google Chrome, but of course one would need to have I.E. fixed long enough to download those browsers, lol!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-29-2013, 12:22 PM
 
Location: Olde English District, SC (look it up on Wikipedia)
244 posts, read 318,123 times
Reputation: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by skinsguy37 View Post
Yeah, I've seen it before - especially in Vista. I don't know why or how the shortcut gets corrupted, but that's how I've fixed it. Of course, you could be right as well. My ultimate fix is to just say ********* I.E. and use either Firefox or Google Chrome, but of course one would need to have I.E. fixed long enough to download those browsers, lol!

After you get it fixed, I would recommend downloading a back up browser. I don't use IE, but my husband does, and it seems to stop working regularly for him, too, on a practically new Windows 8 computer. He uses Chrome as a back up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-29-2013, 01:31 PM
 
Location: Greensboro, NC
5,896 posts, read 4,421,807 times
Reputation: 3934
Quote:
Originally Posted by New Wave Carpetbagger View Post
After you get it fixed, I would recommend downloading a back up browser. I don't use IE, but my husband does, and it seems to stop working regularly for him, too, on a practically new Windows 8 computer. He uses Chrome as a back up.
I'm not the OP - was just posting possible solutions for the OP. I usually use either Firefox or Google Chrome - and since learning about Waterfox from postings here, Waterfox has replaced Firefox for me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:00 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top