U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Celebrating Veterans Day!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 02-06-2014, 10:50 AM
 
548 posts, read 1,065,636 times
Reputation: 160

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by dkf747 View Post
Did you know that you can do a clean install with an upgrade disk? The OP can buy the Upgrade version and use it to do a clean (full) installation.
Where can the Upgrade Version be purchased? All I see is the regular Version for sale.


.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 02-06-2014, 11:00 AM
 
Location: Wandering.
3,544 posts, read 5,676,746 times
Reputation: 2654
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don in Austin View Post
Good to know. I have heard different stories even including refusal to accept a MB upgrade. In any case, the upgrade editions were only $100/license for Home Premium. There were no features on Pro that I could anticipate ever using.

Don in Austin
Home Pro OEM disks are $90 (they did used to be $100, but they've dropped in the last couple of years).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-06-2014, 11:40 AM
 
Location: SF Bay Area
13,343 posts, read 17,764,037 times
Reputation: 19664
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastStraw View Post
Where can the Upgrade Version be purchased? All I see is the regular Version for sale.


.

Google is your friend.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-06-2014, 11:41 PM
 
24,503 posts, read 35,952,320 times
Reputation: 12847
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don in Austin View Post
I made the wise decision to purchase 5 Win 7 'upgrade' licenses for the 5 pcs on the network at my business -- replacing XP. It all went very well and all 5 PCs have been rock solid and brisker . I would not have OEM licenses and have to plead with MS the first time I upgraded processor or MB.

I don't know what problems you experienced or why, but I don't think your experience is a valid argument against upgrade.

Don in Austin
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skunk Workz View Post
I have 5 or 6 OEM licenses and have never had to Plead with anyone to move my licenses to completely new builds, or re-license machines when hardware changed.

If you do it too many times in quick succession, you may have to call an automated line and punch in some numbers to get it to transfer, but that's no different than a full retail, or upgrade license.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don in Austin View Post
Good to know. I have heard different stories even including refusal to accept a MB upgrade. In any case, the upgrade editions were only $100/license for Home Premium. There were no features on Pro that I could anticipate ever using.

Don in Austin
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peregrine View Post
I've also never had problems using a license after an upgrade. Even when you have to call MS there is no pleading. They never question it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skunk Workz View Post
Home Pro OEM disks are $90 (they did used to be $100, but they've dropped in the last couple of years).
Just to clarify a few things:

- OEM licenses can only be used in conjunction with the hardware they are purchased with (this can be a computer, motherboard, video card, etc). While you can purchase an OEM license without hardware, doing do renders it pretty much useless.

- Upgrade licences are permanently tied to the license they are used to initially upgrade. This means that if you use an upgrade license in conjunction with an OEM license that is tied to a particular piece of hardware, you can only ever use that license with that hardware. So if that hardware is a computer that the original license of Windows came with, you cannot use the upgrade on a new computer, ever (You can with a retail license, however).

Microsoft customer service is not always the best in understanding their licensing terms and will often reset licensing outside of the scope of their licensing agreement. This means that it's up to you, the customer, to make an effort to really understand when and when you cannot transfer a license to new hardware.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-07-2014, 05:54 AM
 
Location: Diaspora
21,539 posts, read 24,660,490 times
Reputation: 8929
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaypee View Post
Google is your friend.
Usually stated by people who couldn't find it from a reputable dealer in under the 30 seconds it takes to do so.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-07-2014, 06:02 AM
 
Location: Diaspora
21,539 posts, read 24,660,490 times
Reputation: 8929
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don in Austin View Post
Good to know. I have heard different stories even including refusal to accept a MB upgrade. In any case, the upgrade editions were only $100/license for Home Premium. There were no features on Pro that I could anticipate ever using.

I can name one: RAM limitations.


Memory Limits for Windows Releases (Windows)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-07-2014, 06:10 AM
 
10,752 posts, read 17,997,204 times
Reputation: 10244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pruzhany View Post
I can name one: RAM limitations.


Memory Limits for Windows Releases (Windows)
The average person isn't going to need more than 16GB of RAM currently, most don't even need half of that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-07-2014, 06:21 AM
 
Location: Wandering.
3,544 posts, read 5,676,746 times
Reputation: 2654
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJBest View Post

Microsoft customer service is not always the best in understanding their licensing terms and will often reset licensing outside of the scope of their licensing agreement.
Here's the thing.... I've never, ever, spoken to anyone at MS, so there's no CS rep making a bad decision here.

I am my system builder, so OEM disks are the correct thing for me to buy. All but one of my licenses are still on the original hardware they were purchased for. My personal tower has had most of the internals replaced.

When I upgraded my tower (about 3 years after initially building it), it activated on it's own through the automated activation system, it was only when the MB had to be replaced 3 weeks later that it required reactivation via MS. This was an automated phone line that only asked how many active installs that license was used on.

A year later I changed the boot drive and reloaded the machine from scratch (no other changes), and it had to be activated via the phone system again, but again, no CS rep, and no questions other than was it installed more than once.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-07-2014, 09:34 AM
 
Location: Metro Washington DC
13,306 posts, read 20,356,455 times
Reputation: 7989
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJBest View Post
Just to clarify a few things:

- OEM licenses can only be used in conjunction with the hardware they are purchased with (this can be a computer, motherboard, video card, etc). While you can purchase an OEM license without hardware, doing do renders it pretty much useless.

- Upgrade licences are permanently tied to the license they are used to initially upgrade. This means that if you use an upgrade license in conjunction with an OEM license that is tied to a particular piece of hardware, you can only ever use that license with that hardware. So if that hardware is a computer that the original license of Windows came with, you cannot use the upgrade on a new computer, ever (You can with a retail license, however).

Microsoft customer service is not always the best in understanding their licensing terms and will often reset licensing outside of the scope of their licensing agreement. This means that it's up to you, the customer, to make an effort to really understand when and when you cannot transfer a license to new hardware.
It's an old computer. Why would the OP care about transferring it to other hardware? Wouldn't an OS come with any new system he buys? It doesn't seem like he builds his own systems.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-07-2014, 10:48 AM
 
Location: Northern Virginia
40 posts, read 36,634 times
Reputation: 29
I would just buy 8.1. Purchasing it will be more worth it than upgrading in the future if our computer crashes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:36 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top