U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Celebrating Veterans Day!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-24-2014, 07:03 PM

76 posts, read 194,817 times

Advertisements

I have a question regarding getting a job in IT for a beginner.

First off, I'm not a newbie to computers. I'm a child of the 80's and computers, both Windows and Mac, have always been a huge part of my life. It's hard for me to put a label on myself on what my skill level is for computers but I definitely know the basics and have helped several people set up some simple stuff. I am by no means an engineer or a programmer but I am thinking about switching careers and moving into IT. Yes, that's incredibly broad but my question is this:

What career path or paths should I explore for someone thinking about getting into IT? Is there a specific field within IT that seems to lend itself well to folks like me?

Any information would be extremely helpful. Thanks very much!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-24-2014, 07:25 PM

15,209 posts, read 18,486,202 times
Pick a specialty early, and learn everything you can about it. You can no longer be a "jack of all trades, master of none" type in the current IT environment.

If you want to write software, start with whatever language fits you best. If you want to do hardware, pick a niche (networking/security, high end servers, etc) and get your certs. Software, same thing - pick your specialty and run with it.

My suggestion - DBAs are getting big bucks, and who knows - maybe you'll end up with a sweet gig at the NSA!

Old 02-28-2014, 12:02 PM