U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Celebrating Veterans Day!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 02-25-2014, 09:47 PM
 
Location: Seattle, Washington
2,533 posts, read 4,018,732 times
Reputation: 2818

Advertisements

I went to a friend's house tonight and tried to connect to his WiFi with my MB Air running the latest OS. I entered his network password and upon connection I get a "WiFi has the self-assigned IP address xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx and will not be able to connect to the internet."

Never had this happen before and tried googling for a solution. I found various "fixes" like deleting the network info and keychain access then connecting and while that did give me a "WiFi connected" in the network settings I still had no internet access.

Other fixes I saw were to manually enter the IP... another was turning wifi off, internet sharing off, then back on and creating a new network, wifi back on.. reboot...

All this seems like a lot of hoops to jump thru... The quick fix was disabling his network password and then I could connect and get online no problem.

Obviously this isn't a permanent fix.. does anyone have any suggestions for what appears to be a common problem?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 02-26-2014, 07:56 AM
 
Location: Southern California
4,448 posts, read 5,445,682 times
Reputation: 2209
Do you know why type of encryption the router is set to, how old is your MBA and how old is the router?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-26-2014, 08:50 AM
 
3,201 posts, read 3,643,596 times
Reputation: 4419
can you connect any other device like your cellphone and get on the internet?

the person who setup the WiFi may have mac address filtering as a extra layer of security

whereas the device connecting needs to be manually entered on the device list
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-26-2014, 10:28 AM
Zot
 
Location: 3rd rock from a nearby star
468 posts, read 588,228 times
Reputation: 747
Do you have DHCP enabled? If you don't permit DHCP, it's possible your IP address is static. This could affect access to DNS service, and keep you out of your friends LAN (which would make your device non-routable).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-26-2014, 11:35 AM
 
Location: Seattle, Washington
2,533 posts, read 4,018,732 times
Reputation: 2818
Quote:
Originally Posted by thelopez2 View Post
Do you know why type of encryption the router is set to, how old is your MBA and how old is the router?
I can enter the router config (192.168.100.1) and its set to WPA. There is also a WEP option. On a side note my router at home (2 TB Airport Time Capsule) shows a WPA2 connection.

My friend is running a cable modem/router combo... it's a SBG900 Wireless Gateway... Comcast ISP.

My MB Air is the summer 2013 model 128GB... purchased last August.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace_TX View Post
can you connect any other device like your cellphone and get on the internet?

the person who setup the WiFi may have mac address filtering as a extra layer of security

whereas the device connecting needs to be manually entered on the device list
Yes... I connected to the network with my iPhone 5s (while the network was still secured with a password) without any issues.

I'm not sure of the mac address setting but as said I can enter the router setup and take a look if needed...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Zot View Post
Do you have DHCP enabled? If you don't permit DHCP, it's possible your IP address is static. This could affect access to DNS service, and keep you out of your friends LAN (which would make your device non-routable).
Yes I believe it is... I look at the current network settings and it shows "using DHCP" under the TCP/IP tab.

I will be here for a week which is why I'm trying to get this resolved... as said I am online with the network password disabled but I'd rather fix this and connect to a secure network.

Thanks everyone for the replies!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-27-2014, 06:57 AM
 
Location: HoCo, MD
4,578 posts, read 8,189,440 times
Reputation: 5113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kees View Post
I went to a friend's house tonight and tried to connect to his WiFi with my MB Air running the latest OS. I entered his network password and upon connection I get a "WiFi has the self-assigned IP address xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx and will not be able to connect to the internet."

Never had this happen before and tried googling for a solution. I found various "fixes" like deleting the network info and keychain access then connecting and while that did give me a "WiFi connected" in the network settings I still had no internet access.

Other fixes I saw were to manually enter the IP... another was turning wifi off, internet sharing off, then back on and creating a new network, wifi back on.. reboot...

All this seems like a lot of hoops to jump thru... The quick fix was disabling his network password and then I could connect and get online no problem.

Obviously this isn't a permanent fix.. does anyone have any suggestions for what appears to be a common problem?
Not sure if you ran across this article in your Google search. But it seems it tires to provide an explanation. And the solution is somewhat simple - basically reset your firewall.

Fix self-assigned IP addresses in OS X | MacFixIt - CNET Reviews

The article is from 2011 - an eternity in computer time. But it may still be valid.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-28-2014, 10:36 AM
 
Location: Southern California
4,448 posts, read 5,445,682 times
Reputation: 2209
I encountered this with with 2 different MBA a couple of years ago. The macbook and pro would work fine but the MBA didn't work unless the encryption was turned off. Worked with WEP, but not WPA. I just bought a new router. I figured it wasn't worth the time and if I did find the problem, it was not something I could get changed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:48 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top