U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Celebrating Veterans Day!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 03-20-2014, 12:22 AM
 
2,574 posts, read 4,765,554 times
Reputation: 6385

Advertisements

My MacBook's charger says it accepts 110-240V inputs, so other than needing to plug it into the correct adapter, is there anything I need to do to specifically "tell" it it's going to be receiving 220? I have a travel hair dryer that requires you to manually switch from one voltage to the other using a coin to twist a screw-like button. I don't want to fry my laptop, and all I'm finding online are statements that I CAN charge it without a transformer. I just want to be sure I don't need to change any kind of setting to do so.

Thanks for enlightening my ignorance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 03-20-2014, 08:40 AM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
11,814 posts, read 13,951,598 times
Reputation: 8047
Quote:
Originally Posted by ukiyo-e View Post
My MacBook's charger says it accepts 110-240V inputs, so other than needing to plug it into the correct adapter, is there anything I need to do to specifically "tell" it it's going to be receiving 220?
No. It's not a hair dryer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-20-2014, 08:45 AM
 
Location: Fort Gordon, GA
498 posts, read 816,647 times
Reputation: 1206
You can plug it right into any socket and it'll work as long as the voltage does not exceed 240v (i.e., almost any normal power outlet in the world)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-20-2014, 06:01 PM
 
2,574 posts, read 4,765,554 times
Reputation: 6385
Thanks! I *figured* that was the case since there didn't seem to be any obvious place to change the voltage, but Apple can be a little *too* clever with their designs sometimes, so I thought maybe I just didn't see something somewhere.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-26-2014, 09:31 AM
 
32,740 posts, read 33,715,658 times
Reputation: 15284
Most computers seem to be built that way nowadays meaning they work with any normal voltage worldwide.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:35 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top