U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Celebrating Veterans Day!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 04-06-2014, 02:13 AM
 
Location: NJ
804 posts, read 1,407,209 times
Reputation: 725

Advertisements

Ok, I bought a dashcam for my vehicle and I want to upload some videos on youtube, but I'm having trouble retaining the excellent quality of the original video once I convert it a file that is compatible with windows movie maker.

When I connect the dash cam to my computer, the files can only be played in quickplayer. For some reason, the quality of the picture is perfect, but the video is very choppy AND I can't edit it. So I downloaded this program called "Any Video Converter" and I've converted it to WMV and mpeg, but both reduce the quality dramatically when played in windows movie maker. You can't even make out cars clearly. What do you guys recommend? Any help will be greatly appreciated!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 04-06-2014, 04:09 AM
Jza
 
Location: New Jersey
234 posts, read 319,057 times
Reputation: 274
Try converting them to mp4 with VLC Media Player. Go to the "Media" drop down menu and choose "convert/save". Follow the prompts. Hope it works out for ya.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-08-2014, 04:34 AM
 
2 posts, read 1,391 times
Reputation: 10
Give AppGeeker video converter a try

set the output preference to "High quality"
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-08-2014, 04:42 AM
 
40,161 posts, read 41,766,549 times
Reputation: 16735
Firstly nearly any conversion of video is going to reduce quality especially if there is any intermediate conversions. For example...

Source video >> 1000kbps WMV = Best method

Source video >> 2000kbps WMV >> 1000kbps WMV = Bad method

Always keep the original source of the video if it is meaningful to you. The most likely reason the video is choppy is because your PC is choking on it.

What's the original format of the video?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-12-2014, 10:23 PM
 
Location: NJ
804 posts, read 1,407,209 times
Reputation: 725
I think the problem stemmed from the fact that I was on my very old desktop computer. I transferred the videos to my laptop and they play perfectly fine on "windows live movie maker". No video conversion needed. Posting some vids to youtube now. Maybe I'll share the link here!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-12-2014, 10:58 PM
 
Location: NJ
804 posts, read 1,407,209 times
Reputation: 725
ughh. So the quality seemed to regress after I uploaded it on youtube. Thoughts? Also, why isn't it full screen?


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JyQ5...ature=youtu.be
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-14-2014, 01:42 AM
 
40,161 posts, read 41,766,549 times
Reputation: 16735
If you go to YouTube and view it here is little gear on the lower right, the default display is set to 360p but you can change it to 1080p. I don't use youtube other than viewing so I don't know if that is viewer setting or if it can be adjusted by the uploader. Possibly both....

As far as the video being both letterboxed and pillar boxed it's probably because the camcorder is not flagging the video as widescreen and/or you changed something for the upload. At some point it got changed to 3:4, since the video is 16:9 the blackbars top and bottom are produced during conversion and are part of the video stream itself.

Since the new aspect is 4:3 the black bars left and right are produced by the player.

Confused?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-15-2014, 11:21 PM
 
Location: NJ
804 posts, read 1,407,209 times
Reputation: 725
lol ok thanks for the advice. I figured out how to get rid of the black bars and I'm going to look into setting it as HD as the default setting. Thanks again

Latest vid:


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u4XFTDIAtYU
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:48 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top