U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 12-23-2007, 02:31 PM
 
69,370 posts, read 56,321,017 times
Reputation: 9369

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by CouponJack View Post
Ok, I tried that.....TOTAL physical memory shows total @ a little above 260K. The AVAILABLE physical ranges anywhere from 45K-65K.....

So, I'm assuming it would help?

thanks
As tek stated yes, more ram will help out. Take it all the way to 512k because memory is cheap nowadays.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 12-29-2007, 08:14 AM
 
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
9,114 posts, read 15,819,611 times
Reputation: 3695
Ok, here's an update.

I purchased online (from memorystock) a 256MB stick PER THE SPECS on my computer for $38.

I installed the memory stick (not too difficult once I moved the fan enclosure out of the way.

I snapped it in and locked the side tabs in.....I turned the computer back on and it wouldn't start! I kept getting the black screen saying "windows will not start successfully, yada, yada, yada....".. I tried to do a "safe" startup, no avail.

Just for kicks and giggles I hit F1 and noticed that the computer DID recognize I have a 256MB stick in the second port, but it wouldn't start.

So, I took the new stick out (which left me w/the 1 original stick) and now the computer started fine!

I'm not sure what the problem is. I guess the 1st thing to do is call HP support?

anyone have any suggestions?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-29-2007, 08:27 AM
 
10,753 posts, read 18,010,478 times
Reputation: 10244
Put the new stick in by itself in the slot the old one was in, if it still doesn't start you may have a compatibility problem. Machines from back then can be finicky. Is the old stick double sided? (memory chips on each side of the stick) If so is the new one the same?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-30-2007, 04:27 PM
 
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
9,114 posts, read 15,819,611 times
Reputation: 3695
Quote:
Originally Posted by NHDave View Post
Put the new stick in by itself in the slot the old one was in, if it still doesn't start you may have a compatibility problem. Machines from back then can be finicky. Is the old stick double sided? (memory chips on each side of the stick) If so is the new one the same?

I think the problem is with my second "port".

The new stick of 256MB works fine in my original slot, however when I put a "stick" in that 2nd slot, the computer won't start.

I can mix and match sticks in the 1st original slot, but the 2nd doesn't "accept" sticks it seems like.

I'm thinking I need to email HP....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-30-2007, 04:33 PM
 
28,627 posts, read 40,609,166 times
Reputation: 37303
United States
General Information....................................... .................1-800-345-1518
Technical Support (For continuous quality
improvement, calls may be monitored.) ......................1-800-474-6836
.................................................. ...........................1-208-323-2551
Ordering Backup Software.......................................... ....1-800-952-7689
Customer Support Web site ......................................www.hp.com


Good HP info page: http://tinyurl.com/2xby87 (broken link)

Overall troubleshooting page: http://tinyurl.com/yrc2qp (broken link)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-30-2007, 04:39 PM
 
28,627 posts, read 40,609,166 times
Reputation: 37303
Quote:
Originally Posted by CouponJack View Post
I think the problem is with my second "port".

The new stick of 256MB works fine in my original slot, however when I put a "stick" in that 2nd slot, the computer won't start.

I can mix and match sticks in the 1st original slot, but the 2nd doesn't "accept" sticks it seems like
.

I'm thinking I need to email HP....
Does the 2nd slot accept the original memory stick?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-30-2007, 04:46 PM
 
28,627 posts, read 40,609,166 times
Reputation: 37303
On this page

http://tinyurl.com/2xby87 (broken link)

Go down to Figure F1. Notice that the screen shows not only the size of the RAM stick, but the SPEED. Put each of yours in slot 1 and look on this screen for the speed. Are they the same? If not, that's a no-no.

I couldn't find any mention of it, but some older PC's won't let you mix and match sizes. If slot 1 has 128mb, then slot 2 also requires it. I don't think that's the case here, but be aware of the possibility.

Nix that, I found this on that same page:

For example, if the computer is capable of holding a maximum of 1024 MB (1 G) of memory and the motherboard has four memory slots, install 256 MB (or less) memory modules per slot.

Okay, maybe not. Now that I've pasted it here and read it again I'm not sure exactly what it's trying to convey...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-30-2007, 04:52 PM
 
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
9,114 posts, read 15,819,611 times
Reputation: 3695
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tek_Freek View Post
Does the 2nd slot accept the original memory stick?
the second slot accepts neither... (the first can accept either stick)

that's why I think the problem is w/the slot.

Both sticks are 256MB (the HP pavilion 7850 allows 512MB for 2 slots max)

Maybe I'm way off base, but I'll give them a call...thanks for the info
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-30-2007, 05:01 PM
 
28,627 posts, read 40,609,166 times
Reputation: 37303
I agree it's time for a phone call.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-05-2011, 09:36 PM
 
Location: East St. Paul 651 forever (or North St. Paul) .
2,869 posts, read 2,883,014 times
Reputation: 1446
Thanks for the info in this thread. I did a Google search and this site for some reason came up first. The info came in helpful.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:36 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top