U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 11-01-2014, 09:57 AM
 
Location: God's Gift to Mankind for flying anything
5,374 posts, read 11,285,294 times
Reputation: 4210

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrownVic95 View Post
That is correct....not sure which version it started with, but the newer versions update automatically by clicking "about". It's one of the many reasons I run Firefox 13. It's fast, smooth, and under my control. The new versions are nightmares.
I am on win7 Ult (need the foreign language capability)
I have very few *plug-ins*, which I think, is most of the time the cause for *problems*.
There are four (4) Add-Ons, of which three (3) of them are *disabled*.
(You want *one* to run ... , you get a few more as a *bonus* ... yeah right !)
Only one (1) of them still *active*, and only *runs* when *I* want it to run.

I am on version 33, apparently the latest ...
There still is a place where you can choose to update or not.
What are all the nightmares ?
What is not under *your* control ?
Attached Thumbnails
HKow to install older version of Firefox-ffupdate.jpg  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 11-01-2014, 08:17 PM
 
Location: Wooster, Ohio
1,086 posts, read 831,509 times
Reputation: 1624
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrownVic95 View Post
Any advantage over an older Firefox version?
The latest Pale Moon builds are current on security patches; older Firefox versions are not.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-02-2014, 09:00 AM
 
Location: Victoria TX
42,663 posts, read 75,401,683 times
Reputation: 36181
I've learned that AdBlock is available for Pale Moon, but it's not official, so will not come up as an option on AdBlock's site. It can be found by googling /pale moon adblock/. When it loads, it works.


https://addons.palemoon.org/extensio.../adblock-plus/
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-04-2014, 11:01 AM
 
Location: Somewhere in northern Alabama
18,567 posts, read 55,493,012 times
Reputation: 32343
Good post kevin. Nice to see some new blood.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-06-2014, 11:07 AM
 
4 posts, read 3,140 times
Reputation: 10
I had the same problem. I downloaded Firefox 26.0 from Filehippo. Then I opened About Firefox to verify I installed the correct version.... I do not know why I need to disable NIC. I just removed Firefox than installed the browser again. Then I also used Tools > Options > Advanced > Update to disabled the auto update. It really works! I also found a few screenshots which describe this process: How to install older version of Firefox but never never open About Firefox before disabling the auto update
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-06-2014, 12:06 PM
 
Location: A safe distance from San Francisco
9,088 posts, read 6,400,707 times
Reputation: 9374
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexNiko View Post
I had the same problem. I downloaded Firefox 26.0 from Filehippo. Then I opened About Firefox to verify I installed the correct version.... I do not know why I need to disable NIC. I just removed Firefox than installed the browser again. Then I also used Tools > Options > Advanced > Update to disabled the auto update. It really works! I also found a few screenshots which describe this process: How to install older version of Firefox but never never open About Firefox before disabling the auto update
Before I learned my lesson and made a final decision to stay away from the newer Firefox versions, I tried several. And I would have sworn that opening "About Firefox" immediately started an update - even after disabling auto update in the options. Of course, that could have happened on one version but not another. Or maybe I thought I'd turned it off, but really didn't in that case.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:54 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top