U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-22-2014, 07:26 PM

4,375 posts, read 5,263,755 times

Advertisements

As a software engineer myself, I've come to the realization that the reason behind bad developers is usually bad management. And behind any bad manager is usually a bad Product Manager. Furthermore any bad Product Manager is usually the result of a bad Marketing department. And we all know bad marketing departments come from terrible sales departments.

I also noticed that a lot of software engineers get promoted are usually cowboy coders. The guys who copy and paste code, do very little testing, and only write code they can understand. Since upper management never see how bad the code is, they never put bugs in production and speed together.

I have noticed a lot of service based offshore companies tend to be more about high volume than quality work. Generally developers offshore seem to be working under duress and extreme micromanaging, which will ulimately lead to rushed and shoddy coding. Seems like Agile has made the problem worse, having Project Managers and Product Managers they can send knowingly buggy code into production and just patch it right away. Seems like this practice has become very common in the gaming industry.

I wonder is the industry just doomed to be lead by this style of management? The Product Managers cracking the whip and over-promising?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-22-2014, 07:31 PM

24,503 posts, read 35,979,772 times