U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 11-23-2014, 01:10 PM
 
Location: Eastern NC
20,309 posts, read 18,278,288 times
Reputation: 18127

Advertisements

I just added 4GB worth of memory to my Acer Aspire 5552-5898 laptop. It has only 2 slots for memory so I had to remove 1 chip then added the 4GB one. This is supposed to give me 6GB of memory. The computer shows 6GB of memory but only 1.73GB usable which is down from the 3.74GB I had before. I am running windows 7. Is there anything I can to greatly increase the usable memory? It seems like the computer reads the added chip but will not use it. Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 11-23-2014, 01:51 PM
 
Location: Florida & Cebu, Philippines
2,808 posts, read 2,518,442 times
Reputation: 2877
I believe that you have to do it in matched sets.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-23-2014, 02:12 PM
 
28,638 posts, read 40,617,860 times
Reputation: 37346
What version of Windows are you running? 32 bit or 64?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-23-2014, 02:24 PM
 
24,503 posts, read 35,979,772 times
Reputation: 12852
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Lee View Post
I believe that you have to do it in matched sets.
Not typical with modern RAM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-23-2014, 02:27 PM
 
24,503 posts, read 35,979,772 times
Reputation: 12852
What appears to be happening here is you initially have two sticks of 2GB of ram (4GB total). When you swap in the 4GB stick to make 6GB, your computer isn't picking it up. Either the RAM isn't seated properly, is not compatible, or is bad (in which case you should exchange it).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-23-2014, 02:29 PM
 
28,638 posts, read 40,617,860 times
Reputation: 37346
Remove the 2GB, reseat the 4GB, and restart. If the new chip is defective this should tell you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-23-2014, 02:31 PM
 
28,638 posts, read 40,617,860 times
Reputation: 37346
If you are running 32 bit Windows the system will not use more than 4GB RAM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-23-2014, 02:49 PM
 
Location: Eastern NC
20,309 posts, read 18,278,288 times
Reputation: 18127
Quote:
Originally Posted by tek_freek View Post
what version of windows are you running? 32 bit or 64?
64
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-23-2014, 02:51 PM
 
Location: Eastern NC
20,309 posts, read 18,278,288 times
Reputation: 18127
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJBest View Post
What appears to be happening here is you initially have two sticks of 2GB of ram (4GB total). When you swap in the 4GB stick to make 6GB, your computer isn't picking it up. Either the RAM isn't seated properly, is not compatible, or is bad (in which case you should exchange it).
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tek_Freek View Post
Remove the 2GB, reseat the 4GB, and restart. If the new chip is defective this should tell you.
I will try reseating it, thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-23-2014, 03:28 PM
 
Location: Eastern NC
20,309 posts, read 18,278,288 times
Reputation: 18127
That did it. It wasn't fully seated. I now have 5.74GB of memory. Thanks everyone.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:54 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top