U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-29-2014, 06:49 AM

825 posts, read 2,351,274 times

Advertisements

I am an IT professional so clearly my view of technology may be somewhat skewed when it comes to making a more technical and informed decision based on technological capabilities. However, when it comes to making a more practical decision when it comes to keeping my kids technology literate and savvy I am not as decisive . Therefore, I am seeking the views, especially of parents whom have either already purchased Laptops or about to purchase Laptops for their kid(s). I have a 12 1/2 year old and a 9 1/2 year old child and need to know the following:-

1) At what age is it appropriate to hand off a laptop to your child?

2) What is a drop dead price range that you would not exceed for one?

Whatever I purchase for them should be at least good enough to take them through high school. Oh, a Chrome Book is not a viable option as they will need to use MS-Word, eventually Excel, and PowerPoint etc. I have been looking at the following two but am opened to other choices ....

Lenovo G50-70 Laptop | Entry-Level Laptop with DVD Drive*| Lenovo US

Asus 15.6" Laptop Intel Core i5 4GB Memory 500GB Hard Drive X550LA-SI50402W - Best Buy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-29-2014, 07:04 AM

6,875 posts, read 8,459,903 times