U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 12-04-2014, 06:15 PM
 
40,212 posts, read 41,808,108 times
Reputation: 16755

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skunk Workz View Post
Mine just updated, and didn't change.
Hmmm, were using Yahoo or something other than the default Google?

I never actually set Google as the default so perhaps that has something to do with it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 12-04-2014, 06:31 PM
 
Location: Wandering.
3,545 posts, read 5,680,204 times
Reputation: 2654
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecoalman View Post
Hmmm, were using Yahoo or something other than the default Google?

I never actually set Google as the default so perhaps that has something to do with it.
Using Google, but I may have set it to Google over the years. Not sure since I've had this FF profile for years and years.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-04-2014, 07:20 PM
 
40,212 posts, read 41,808,108 times
Reputation: 16755
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skunk Workz View Post
Using Google, but I may have set it to Google over the years. Not sure since I've had this FF profile for years and years.
This is new laptop less than 3 months old, I'll have to see what happens when I get home on the PC.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-05-2014, 02:35 AM
 
Location: Oroville, California
3,318 posts, read 4,877,373 times
Reputation: 6055
Firefox is my default browser and has been for a couple months now. I can't remember it ever crashing on Windows 7 (and I'm on it hours a day). I backburnered Chrome for it. Maybe you all have some other system issue. Just a thought.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-05-2014, 03:01 AM
 
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
688 posts, read 774,059 times
Reputation: 750
I can't say I've ever really had any issues with Firefox on either WinXP or Win7.

Chrome is okay, but lacks some features that I prefer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-05-2014, 04:18 AM
 
Location: Prepperland
14,106 posts, read 10,124,761 times
Reputation: 10376
I've been having strange bugs with Chrome on Win 7 Pro 64.
Generally, it locks up or hangs, with the DRAM usage hitting the max (8 GB DDRAM).
All other programs bog down or freeze.
Sometimes, it unlocks. Sometimes it requires a power down / up sequence to clear.

Am back to using FireFox to see if that also locks up.
So far, no lock ups on two machines.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-05-2014, 08:57 AM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
11,825 posts, read 13,964,257 times
Reputation: 8060
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecoalman View Post
It just updated your default search to Yahoo too.
Yep. Fine with that. I don't dislike Yahoo.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-05-2014, 09:25 AM
 
1,152 posts, read 1,041,312 times
Reputation: 921
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeauCharles View Post
Firefox is my default browser and has been for a couple months now. I can't remember it ever crashing on Windows 7 (and I'm on it hours a day). I backburnered Chrome for it. Maybe you all have some other system issue. Just a thought.
That is part of what I'm wondering.... I suspect it has to do with video hardware as crashes usually occur when scrolling or switching tabs. That could also account for why some users have problems and others do not.

The other reason I suspect hardware is that I've had similar results with three linux distributions on the same machine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-05-2014, 11:23 AM
 
Location: SF Bay Area
13,343 posts, read 17,774,576 times
Reputation: 19664
I'm crashing alot ever since FF 33 came along (running on Windows7). I just updated to FF 34 so we will see.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-05-2014, 11:38 AM
 
Location: Wandering.
3,545 posts, read 5,680,204 times
Reputation: 2654
I've had very few crashes ever with FF (been running it since it was in early beta).

Usually it's caused by plugins that aren't compatible, or gets cleaned up quickly.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top