U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 12-05-2014, 06:33 PM
 
Location: Metro Washington DC
13,322 posts, read 20,368,637 times
Reputation: 7994

Advertisements

The last time I had an issue with FF was probably 5 years or more ago.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 12-05-2014, 07:14 PM
 
40,209 posts, read 41,799,403 times
Reputation: 16749
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peregrine View Post
Yep. Fine with that. I don't dislike Yahoo.
What they do with a new install is their business but changing user defaults on an existing install is whole other issue.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-10-2014, 08:42 AM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
11,820 posts, read 13,961,605 times
Reputation: 8055
How much did you pay for Firefox, Coalman?

How long does it take to switch your Search Provider back to Google?

Don't fall Mozilla for doing whatever they need to do to make a buck. And something as innocuous as changing who the default search engine that the Mozilla home page uses??? Come on...
If your "Start" page was set to something else, you wouldn't even notice this change.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-10-2014, 10:44 AM
 
40,209 posts, read 41,799,403 times
Reputation: 16749
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peregrine View Post
How much did you pay for Firefox, Coalman?

That's besides the point, randomly switching a users defaults is just a poor practice across the board no matter who is doing it. For me it's really irrelevant however for someone like my parents whom I've told to call me if for example their search page looks different it's an issue. As you know the search is commonly hijacked by malware.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-11-2014, 01:28 AM
Status: "Psychological-Comfort-Pitbull" (set 23 days ago)
 
Location: Brawndo-Thirst-Mutilator-Nation
16,980 posts, read 17,145,000 times
Reputation: 13268
Join the club, IE11, Chrome.......HTML5 threw a wrench in the whole works. Aren't these programmers supposed to be ultra-smart?????????????
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-11-2014, 09:27 PM
 
Location: Cary, NC
34,306 posts, read 59,623,818 times
Reputation: 33366
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecoalman View Post
That's besides the point, randomly switching a users defaults is just a poor practice across the board no matter who is doing it. For me it's really irrelevant however for someone like my parents whom I've told to call me if for example their search page looks different it's an issue. As you know the search is commonly hijacked by malware.
Yep.
"Making a buck" is hardly a defense a decent company would use for slamming something on a user.
Kinda like Java slamming Ask or Adobe slamming GOOG on updaters.

Business may be business, but ignorant business behavior is still bad behavior.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-16-2014, 02:12 AM
 
Location: Oroville, California
3,318 posts, read 4,876,301 times
Reputation: 6055
Finally had my first crash after months of browsing. Was trying to scroll down the page in Woot.com and it locked up. One time in six months? I can live with that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-17-2014, 08:42 AM
 
3,279 posts, read 4,202,129 times
Reputation: 6149
Yes, Firefox crashes with me ALL the time. The main thing it loves and I mean just LOVES to do is give you that "a script on this page may be busy" and it then gives you the options of "continue" or "stop script." I get this ALL the time with Firefox on every machine except the older (32, I think) version that used to be on my older Windows XP laptop. (And no, XP has nothing to do with it, because I also used to get that same error message on my my wife's previous XP desktop.)

If there is a fix for that, I'd be open to do it, but it needs to be EASY, as in un-check one box and that's it, and it shouldn't compromise any features or mandate any "workarounds" in doing so.

My other complaints--yes, it updates too much, twice a year is all it should require, and don't do it automatically, wait until I TELL YOU to update--and yes, I still expect no viruses. The other, more recent thing--I'm not sure what version it is, but they ruined the search box, which is one feature that had me hanging onto Firefox, because they were the only ones that had the separate search box, a design I strongly prefer. (To me, combining the search box and URL box is an awful design.) The different options used to be in "list" view, which made it easy--tab over, press F4, arrow-down to the one you want, press ENTER, then type in what you're searching for. Now that listing is in "grid" view, and it's not anywhere near as intuitive or quick with the keyboard.

They used to be my favorite browser, but anymore they're just awful. I just Opera or Chrome anymore. Opera has been prompting me for the past 5-7 months to update, I press NO and get on with my life, and I've had no problems. I will update it at some point, but it's when I freaking feel like it and not a moment sooner--and yes, there should still be no viruses anyway.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-17-2014, 12:40 PM
 
Location: A safe distance from San Francisco
9,059 posts, read 6,392,593 times
Reputation: 9341
Quote:
Originally Posted by shyguylh View Post
Yes, Firefox crashes with me ALL the time. The main thing it loves and I mean just LOVES to do is give you that "a script on this page may be busy" and it then gives you the options of "continue" or "stop script." I get this ALL the time with Firefox on every machine except the older (32, I think) version that used to be on my older Windows XP laptop. (And no, XP has nothing to do with it, because I also used to get that same error message on my my wife's previous XP desktop.)

If there is a fix for that, I'd be open to do it, but it needs to be EASY, as in un-check one box and that's it, and it shouldn't compromise any features or mandate any "workarounds" in doing so.

My other complaints--yes, it updates too much, twice a year is all it should require, and don't do it automatically, wait until I TELL YOU to update--and yes, I still expect no viruses. The other, more recent thing--I'm not sure what version it is, but they ruined the search box, which is one feature that had me hanging onto Firefox, because they were the only ones that had the separate search box, a design I strongly prefer. (To me, combining the search box and URL box is an awful design.) The different options used to be in "list" view, which made it easy--tab over, press F4, arrow-down to the one you want, press ENTER, then type in what you're searching for. Now that listing is in "grid" view, and it's not anywhere near as intuitive or quick with the keyboard.

They used to be my favorite browser, but anymore they're just awful. I just Opera or Chrome anymore. Opera has been prompting me for the past 5-7 months to update, I press NO and get on with my life, and I've had no problems. I will update it at some point, but it's when I freaking feel like it and not a moment sooner--and yes, there should still be no viruses anyway.
Indeed they are....since at least as far back as version 27 - maybe a little further.

So why not use a version that wasn't awful? I use version 13 and it is fast and smooth, though occasionally I do get the busy script messages you mention. And it has a separate search box - didn't know that had been dropped.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-17-2014, 01:07 PM
 
Location: Metro Washington DC
13,322 posts, read 20,368,637 times
Reputation: 7994
Quote:
Originally Posted by shyguylh View Post
Yes, Firefox crashes with me ALL the time. The main thing it loves and I mean just LOVES to do is give you that "a script on this page may be busy" and it then gives you the options of "continue" or "stop script." I get this ALL the time with Firefox on every machine except the older (32, I think) version that used to be on my older Windows XP laptop. (And no, XP has nothing to do with it, because I also used to get that same error message on my my wife's previous XP desktop.)

If there is a fix for that, I'd be open to do it, but it needs to be EASY, as in un-check one box and that's it, and it shouldn't compromise any features or mandate any "workarounds" in doing so.
Are you using NoScript or other add on to block scripts? I've only ever seen what you describe when using those addons. Check the settings. I'll bet that all it takes is a simple checkbox.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:46 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top