U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 12-11-2014, 10:42 PM
 
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
9,114 posts, read 15,820,958 times
Reputation: 3695

Advertisements

Ok, I'm desperate for help and can't figure out how to fix windows to start normally.

Computer was running fine a couple days ago. Problem started when I tried to upgrade my avast software. Computer froze, manually restarted it and wouldn't work.

Started in safe mode, the error was my registry was corrupted. Somehow I figured out problem though combination of using cc cleaner and anti malware bytes.

Worked ok for an hour or two, then I received error that internet was unable to connect to proxy server.

Tried startup repair and received error message (startup.exe -application error); the exception breakpoint has been reached. did not fix problem. I tried anti malware bytes, andvthere are roughly 20,000 windows/installer.temp files that are 'detected'. When I try to quarantine those, the program freezes up during heuristic analysis.

I can start in safe mode, but I'm frustrated and out of ideas how to fix this so windows can start normally.

Anyone have ideas on steps I can take to try to fix the problem? I'm sure there are some easy ways, its just I'm somewhat ignorant on advanced options to try here...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 12-11-2014, 11:08 PM
 
Location: The Berk in Denver, CO USA
14,391 posts, read 21,075,024 times
Reputation: 23913
Make sure your data are backed up.
Make sure you can reinstall all you application software.
Reformat computer and install windows 7.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-12-2014, 12:12 PM
 
10,755 posts, read 18,013,891 times
Reputation: 10244
Quote:
Originally Posted by davebarnes View Post
Make sure your data are backed up.
Make sure you can reinstall all you application software.
Reformat computer and install windows 7.

Ahhh yes. The old I don't have a clue how to help so I'll suggest a format and a reinstall

For the OP, try starting with a clean boot and see what happens
How to perform a clean boot in Windows

Which web browser gave you the proxy error?

It's possible you may have a malware infection.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-12-2014, 12:49 PM
 
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
9,114 posts, read 15,820,958 times
Reputation: 3695
both firefox and google chrome..those are the only 2 i have loaded..

I also tried to run disk cleanup in safe mode, however it freezes halfway through scanning/calculating.....so I have to cancel that.

also it wont allow me to check disk....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-12-2014, 12:57 PM
 
10,755 posts, read 18,013,891 times
Reputation: 10244
Follow these instructions and see if you have a proxy set up

Change proxy server settings in Internet Explorer - Windows Help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-12-2014, 01:26 PM
 
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
9,114 posts, read 15,820,958 times
Reputation: 3695
I entered msconfig.exe in start menu, followed the instructions in performing a clean boot, however when it tried to 'restart', the blue circle kept spinning in the 'shutting down windows' green screen. So I manually shut off the CPU.

When I restarted, it had a CHKDSK scheduled: this is the message I got:

CHKDSK is verifying files (stage 1 of 3)
3507328 File records processed
File verification complete
1125 large file records processed
0 bad files processed
12 EA records processed
62 reparse records processed

CHKDSK is veryfing indexes (stage 2 of 3)
60 percent complete (3509903 of 3564698 index entries is processed


now its frozen and wont complete checkdisk!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-12-2014, 01:32 PM
 
10,755 posts, read 18,013,891 times
Reputation: 10244
DO NOT pull the plug on it while it's running a chkdsk, you can cause serious file damage. Let it go and see what it does.

I'm wondering if you might have a faulty hard drive, give it time to complete the chkdsk, it can look like nothings happening for a while. Is the hard drive light flickering?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-12-2014, 01:35 PM
 
28,638 posts, read 40,617,860 times
Reputation: 37346
Long shot here. You say the registry is corrupted. Any chance there's a saved copy? Search the computer (if it will) for *.reg files. If it finds any check the date (before the foobar, but not too old) and let us know what you find.

Don't do anything with the file(s) until you post here and someone gives you advice. More than one person would be good as there are those whose first reaction is reformat your drive.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-12-2014, 01:37 PM
 
28,638 posts, read 40,617,860 times
Reputation: 37346
Quote:
Originally Posted by NHDave View Post
DO NOT pull the plug on it while it's running a chkdsk, you can cause serious file damage. Let it go and see what it does.

I'm wondering if you might have a faulty hard drive, give it time to complete the chkdsk, it can look like nothings happening for a while. Is the hard drive light flickering?
Agreed!! Chkdsk is a long, slow process and requires patience.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-12-2014, 01:53 PM
 
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
9,114 posts, read 15,820,958 times
Reputation: 3695
Quote:
Originally Posted by NHDave View Post
DO NOT pull the plug on it while it's running a chkdsk, you can cause serious file damage. Let it go and see what it does.?
too late...i manually shut it off

I am trying to restart in safe mode and a bunch of "loaded: \windows\system32\.sys files are popping up.......it says "please wait", however it appears to be frozen in the process of starting up in safe mode...

How the hell can this go bad so quick??? the computer was working fine 24 hrs ago
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:03 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top