U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 12-18-2014, 12:44 PM
 
Location: Yellow cottage, green doors.
16,420 posts, read 13,329,426 times
Reputation: 72436

Advertisements

Try running it on an outlet that is on a different electrical circuit! You should do it just to rule it out. I had that problem here in this house. It does this at your house, but not at the shop...the difference is only the electrical circuit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 12-18-2014, 12:46 PM
 
Location: Diaspora
21,550 posts, read 24,690,260 times
Reputation: 8930
Quote:
Originally Posted by moved View Post
I'm not that computer savvy enough to do that. If I have problems, I take it to the shop.

Is it a local private shop or a retail store shop?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-18-2014, 12:59 PM
 
Location: Talmadge, San Diego, CA
13,488 posts, read 25,870,249 times
Reputation: 8245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pruzhany View Post
Is it a local private shop or a retail store shop?
It's a local shop, but they have three locations.

Last edited by moved; 12-18-2014 at 01:51 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-18-2014, 01:50 PM
 
Location: Talmadge, San Diego, CA
13,488 posts, read 25,870,249 times
Reputation: 8245
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainroosty View Post
Try running it on an outlet that is on a different electrical circuit! You should do it just to rule it out. I had that problem here in this house. It does this at your house, but not at the shop...the difference is only the electrical circuit.
I'll have to run an extension cord from outlet behind the couch, which is the only one that I can get to. I moved from 1 1/2 bedrooms (rent was too high) to a studio, and my space is very limited. I'm waiting for a 1bedroom to open up where I live now.

I'll try that and see if it works, and will report back to see what happens.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-18-2014, 01:52 PM
 
Location: Diaspora
21,550 posts, read 24,690,260 times
Reputation: 8930
Quote:
Originally Posted by moved View Post
Yes, I'm running the computer on the same outlet, and really don't have another one to use.
The kitchen maybe?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-18-2014, 01:59 PM
 
Location: Yellow cottage, green doors.
16,420 posts, read 13,329,426 times
Reputation: 72436
Is there a surge protector between the outlet and the computer?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-18-2014, 02:04 PM
 
Location: Talmadge, San Diego, CA
13,488 posts, read 25,870,249 times
Reputation: 8245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pruzhany View Post
The kitchen maybe?
I have two extra extension cords and two power strips, and that wouldn't reach into the kitchen. It's easier to go behind the couch, and it's on a different wall.

My space is very limited, so I have to bear with what I have, until a larger place comes open so that I can move into it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-18-2014, 02:05 PM
 
Location: Talmadge, San Diego, CA
13,488 posts, read 25,870,249 times
Reputation: 8245
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainroosty View Post
Is there a surge protector between the outlet and the computer?
Yes. I have a surge protector, but in order to try a different outlet, I'll have to use an extension cord, because it won't reach.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-18-2014, 02:06 PM
 
Location: Yellow cottage, green doors.
16,420 posts, read 13,329,426 times
Reputation: 72436
^^^ Not real good, but do it anyway.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-18-2014, 02:24 PM
 
Location: Talmadge, San Diego, CA
13,488 posts, read 25,870,249 times
Reputation: 8245
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainroosty View Post
^^^ Not real good, but do it anyway.
I'll try it and see what happens. If it turns out that the problem is the outlet that it's currently on, I'll notify my property manager of the problem, and also buy more surge protectors.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:56 PM.

¬© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top