U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 01-13-2008, 06:05 PM
 
Location: orlando, fl
453 posts, read 1,964,339 times
Reputation: 252

Advertisements

vista is a resource hog. if at all possible, i'd recommend "upgrading" to XP. it can run many of the applications that vista runs and can do it more efficiently.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 02-21-2008, 12:57 PM
 
Location: HAYES
1 posts, read 2,835 times
Reputation: 13
Talking vista base score

hi ive built rigs that base score either 5.0 or upwards.
ive got a intel core 2 duo e6600 2.4ghz overclocked to 3.36 ghz with 4gb ddr2 800mhz memory ati 3870 gddr4 graphics card 400gb sata hdd my base score on this rig is 5.4.

cpu:5.7
memory:5.9
graphics:5.9
graphics aero:5.9
hdd:5.4
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-22-2008, 12:48 AM
 
Location: Northglenn, Colorado
3,689 posts, read 9,525,285 times
Reputation: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by gigabyte790fx View Post
hi ive built rigs that base score either 5.0 or upwards.
ive got a intel core 2 duo e6600 2.4ghz overclocked to 3.36 ghz with 4gb ddr2 800mhz memory ati 3870 gddr4 graphics card 400gb sata hdd my base score on this rig is 5.4.

cpu:5.7
memory:5.9
graphics:5.9
graphics aero:5.9
hdd:5.4
sounds like my box. My CPU is at 5.9 atm though. With my HD down at 5.3 lol Vista runs beautifully though.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-22-2008, 02:43 PM
 
Location: Oz
2,238 posts, read 8,969,242 times
Reputation: 1373
I've retrograded many systems from Vista to XP. Have many happier clients as a result.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-22-2008, 02:55 PM
 
Location: Chicago
526 posts, read 942,890 times
Reputation: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by macroy View Post
That's the main point there. You can have a kicking CPU, with 4GB of ram (max supported on a 32-bit system).. and a crappy video card... your score will still be crap.

Now, as an example, if your running a memory intensive program what is pretty much command line based, that base score pretty much means zilch.

Bottom line, that rating system is pretty much worthless - just my opinion of course.
its really only for microsoft products
such as flight simulator office etc... how could you base a software purchase on your score, it should be of individual components
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:44 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top