U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 01-30-2015, 03:12 PM
 
2,494 posts, read 4,768,658 times
Reputation: 943

Advertisements

What is different in the way Chrome works with Flash, as opposed to IE+Flash or Firefox+Flash?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 01-30-2015, 06:58 PM
 
Location: Wandering.
3,545 posts, read 5,679,592 times
Reputation: 2654
Each browser has it's own method of allowing third party plugins to load, so Flash (or any other plugin vendor) has to write a version (or at least make adjustments) for each browser.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-30-2015, 11:46 PM
 
980 posts, read 595,551 times
Reputation: 887
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertpasa View Post
What is different in the way Chrome works with Flash, as opposed to IE+Flash or Firefox+Flash?
IE and Firefox require the Adobe Flash plugin to play Flash content. Chrome does not use the Adobe Flash player by default. Google has created their own Flash player and embedded it into Chrome (it is also available for Chromium).

In theory, they should work the same. However, they are different code bases and developed by two different companies and can have subtle differences. One major difference, which is transparent to the user, is that Google's implementation of Flash runs each piece of Flash content in a sandbox. This is an attempt to provide additional security.

You can, optionally, choose to use the Adobe Flash plugin with Chrome if you desire. This requires some configuration in Chrome's settings.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-30-2015, 11:47 PM
 
980 posts, read 595,551 times
Reputation: 887
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skunk Workz View Post
Each browser has it's own method of allowing third party plugins to load, so Flash (or any other plugin vendor) has to write a version (or at least make adjustments) for each browser.
Flash is a product, not a vendor.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-01-2015, 03:20 PM
 
2,494 posts, read 4,768,658 times
Reputation: 943
I was just using Chrome, and right clicked on a Youtube video. It said it's HTML5, not Flash. But Flash banners are still Flash.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-01-2015, 10:23 PM
Status: "Psychological-Comfort-Pitbull" (set 23 days ago)
 
Location: Brawndo-Thirst-Mutilator-Nation
16,980 posts, read 17,145,000 times
Reputation: 13268
For me, Chrome is faster and more stable than any other browser.

Flash seems to work fine with Chrome........although more and more websites are going with HTML5 for video playback.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-01-2015, 10:46 PM
 
Location: New York City
4,036 posts, read 9,056,885 times
Reputation: 3723
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertpasa View Post
I was just using Chrome, and right clicked on a Youtube video. It said it's HTML5, not Flash. But Flash banners are still Flash.
YouTube just stopped using Flash (about time) for newer browsers.

YouTube now defaults to HTML5 on the web

Flash is dead, and YouTube dealt the killing blow | Technology | The Guardian
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-02-2015, 08:29 AM
 
Location: Metro Washington DC
13,322 posts, read 20,368,637 times
Reputation: 7994
So Firefox is behind here, only offering HTML 5 on beta versions?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-02-2015, 08:40 AM
 
Location: Wandering.
3,545 posts, read 5,679,592 times
Reputation: 2654
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkf747 View Post
So Firefox is behind here, only offering HTML 5 on beta versions?
Only Defaulting to HTML5.

I've been running the HTML5 version of YouTube in FF for a long time (maybe a year?), but you had to opt in before now.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-02-2015, 02:25 PM
 
2,494 posts, read 4,768,658 times
Reputation: 943
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skunk Workz View Post
Only Defaulting to HTML5.

I've been running the HTML5 version of YouTube in FF for a long time (maybe a year?), but you had to opt in before now.
How do you tell Firefox to use HTML5 and not Flash for Youtube?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:56 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top