U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 02-08-2015, 03:24 PM
 
2,496 posts, read 4,772,413 times
Reputation: 943

Advertisements

In the latest Firefox, some pages display a black bar at the top and it says FF has prevented the outdated Adobe Flash plugin from running. It shows an Allow button also. It just showed this on the link below

Adobe - Flash Player

It also showed it on an ordinary Amazon page for a book. I have the latest Flash player and it works okay. Why is Firefox showing this often? This happens when I turn Adblock on or off. I think it happened before I installed Adblock a week ago.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 02-08-2015, 03:27 PM
 
2,496 posts, read 4,772,413 times
Reputation: 943
Also at the following page, on the right the box says "This plugin is vulnerable and should be updated" and asks if I want to Activate Adobe Flash. But I have the latest Flash. Youtube is okay.

https://news.google.com/news/section...00898de4f47c42
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-08-2015, 03:29 PM
 
2,496 posts, read 4,772,413 times
Reputation: 943
Also in Addons Manager it says Adobe Flash is vulnerable and should be updated - mine is not the latest but it's only two weeks old. Is that what is says just because it isn't absolutely the latest??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-08-2015, 03:42 PM
 
2,496 posts, read 4,772,413 times
Reputation: 943
I just went through and updated Flash. I went a really long period, maybe two years, when I never updated Flash or Firefox, and I was okay. These past few weeks it's like FF is rejecting slightly older Flash players more.

Now I see why people are migrating to Chrome.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-08-2015, 05:09 PM
 
Location: Wooster, Ohio
1,086 posts, read 831,509 times
Reputation: 1624
It is not Firefox's fault. Adobe has been updating Flash a lot recently, due to security problems. I read The Register: The Register: Sci/Tech News for the World daily, and whenever they mention a Flash update, I go and get it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:02 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top