U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 05-24-2016, 09:06 AM
 
Location: Swiftwater, PA
15,032 posts, read 12,223,776 times
Reputation: 11302

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by mandavaran View Post
You can regain Windows 7 if you want. You can go to the Windows 10 site and they give you instructions on removing 10 and re-installing your old Windows. The instructions are easy to follow. You just go into your settings and follow the leads.

They automatically installed 10 last night when I was on the computer. I had gotten the occasional Windows 10 upgrade suggestions for awhile and just ignored them. Then I got a notice last night that 10 would install in a certain amount of time. I misread the notice as installation to start in 14 hours when I guess it was due to switch in 14 minutes. I was actually surfing the web trying to find a way to stop the install when it started. I didn't know how to stop it at that point so I let it continue. It took nearly 2 hours for it to finish.

I tried it for awhile last night and today and decided I didn't like it. I went to the Windows 10 website and looked around for some way to tweak it and lo and behold, I found the procedure to remove 10 and revert back to the old Windows. All I needed to do was answer a question why I didn't like it and I then made the change. It was quick and painless, took less than 10 minutes and now I'm back again exactly as before, including all my old anti-virus programs, which had been removed by 10.

Anyway, you can change it back if you really don't like 10 although I think you only have 30 days after installation of 10 to do it this way. After that 30 day period, it may be more complicated.

Thanks for your advice. However I am going to try it for a while. I am just not crazy about them pushing it on me. I actually thought that it would maybe get rid of some of the problems I had with Internet Explorer - it did not. I had problems with IE 10 and then, when I got Windows 10, I updated to IE 11. Both had one crash after another. I had previously found one solution to my problem and now forgot what that solution was or how to find the solution. I just have to use more FireFox and less IE. Sometimes I think many of my problems with IE stem from the fact that I want to keep Google as my preferred search engine and they want me to take Bing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 05-24-2016, 10:41 AM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
11,849 posts, read 13,973,633 times
Reputation: 8083
Microsoft may be shady, but I promise you they aren't messing with you because you use Google.
As your problem seems to follow you even through different versions, your problem is probably a flaky add-on.

Have you tried SAFE MODE?

How to Run Internet Explorer in 'Safe Mode' | Dell US
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-24-2016, 02:58 PM
 
Location: Swiftwater, PA
15,032 posts, read 12,223,776 times
Reputation: 11302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peregrine View Post
Microsoft may be shady, but I promise you they aren't messing with you because you use Google.
As your problem seems to follow you even through different versions, your problem is probably a flaky add-on.

Have you tried SAFE MODE?

How to Run Internet Explorer in 'Safe Mode' | Dell US

I just copied and pasted the command from that Dell link to Cortana and she did the rest. So far; it seems to be working. I'll tell you more after I drive everybody nuts tonight! Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-25-2016, 01:58 PM
 
Location: New York
2,251 posts, read 4,374,664 times
Reputation: 1610
Quote:
Originally Posted by suzy_q2010 View Post
Windows 10 was just installed on my computer this evening without my permission. Of course, then the screen came up for me to either accept or decline the software. I declined and it reinstalled Windows 7. Has anyone else had this happen?

Nasty way to do it, apparently:

Microsoft's Windows 10 upgrades are getting even more sneaky-pushy - CNET

Have multiple computers - dual screens. Repair computers through remote desktop connection, also build websites. < Not a novice.

Last year installed win 10 on my tower - other than eye candy, did not see any improvement.

The software is free right? Installed a firewall and discovered Windows 10 comes with laden with spyware. Reporting your what you do, programs you use and reporting internet surfing habits - so they can send you more advertisements.

Formatted and reinstalled Windows 7. One feature I like is having more control by turning off programs running in background.


..

Last edited by Modification Specialist; 05-25-2016 at 02:30 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-25-2016, 02:51 PM
 
Location: God's Gift to Mankind for flying anything
5,374 posts, read 11,285,294 times
Reputation: 4210
So far so good on most of the computers which have been *upgraded* to WIN 10.

One unit tho, has a glitch now.

I took the battery out for some quirk reason, and then put it back in.
All with the computer OFF !

Now when I start the unit (laptop), it gives me this stuff about doing a restore ...
It then also tells me that I will loose ALL my work done.

So I just cancel it and then it goes on doing what it is supposed to do.
No idea what to do to get it back to normal ...

Oh well, unless anybody else knows how to *fix* this ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-25-2016, 08:05 PM
 
Location: Swiftwater, PA
15,032 posts, read 12,223,776 times
Reputation: 11302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peregrine View Post
Microsoft may be shady, but I promise you they aren't messing with you because you use Google.
As your problem seems to follow you even through different versions, your problem is probably a flaky add-on.

Have you tried SAFE MODE?

How to Run Internet Explorer in 'Safe Mode' | Dell US
I just wanted to update you. I gave up on IE; I am now using Microsoft Edge and it seems to really work great for now. I have tried many, many, links and solutions to my problems with IE. The 'Edge' really works fast and, so far knock on wood, has not crashed. I even like it better than Fire Fox at this point in my exploration of their new product.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-26-2016, 02:31 AM
 
Location: Mesa
39 posts, read 28,841 times
Reputation: 57
I totally hate that win10 constantly asks me to evaluate Microsoft Office. Watching a movie and wham, Microsoft interruption. It would have been nice if they'd added a don't show this again button. I wouldn't use MSOffice if it was free.

Other than annoying ads, I can't notice much difference from Win7, but the Win10 computer is the one we use for Netflix and little else. I can't say my limited experience counts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-26-2016, 08:47 AM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
11,849 posts, read 13,973,633 times
Reputation: 8083
Yea, I hate that, too. The best part is I have Office 365 and Office 2016 apps installed on my PC and I still had the GET OFFICE icon bugging me.


How to Uninstall Windows 10’s Built-in Apps (and How to Reinstall Them)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-31-2016, 12:48 AM
 
28,643 posts, read 40,617,860 times
Reputation: 37346
Biggest PITA so far: Setting the touchpad to not turn on when a mouse is plugged in. I cannot believe how difficult it was to find the answer. Thanks a bunch MS.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-31-2016, 09:07 AM
 
Location: Greensboro, NC
5,896 posts, read 4,421,807 times
Reputation: 3934
Biggest issue I've had with Win10 on my Yoga ThinkPad is that when you go to shut down, it never actually shuts down the computer. I have to hold the power button for it to shut off.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top