U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
View Poll Results: Should I get an integrated or discrete graphics card?
Integrated GPU is just fine for your usage and needs 7 70.00%
Discrete GPU will be noticeably better for your usage and needs 3 30.00%
Voters: 10. You may not vote on this poll

Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 08-17-2016, 02:00 PM
 
Location: St. Louis
3,287 posts, read 1,674,680 times
Reputation: 2163

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbear99 View Post
so SOS is a new term for GPU acceleration? It no longer means Software as a Service?
No, "SOS" means something very specific to an old sailor.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 08-17-2016, 02:05 PM
 
1,137 posts, read 793,442 times
Reputation: 689
Well, I used a 2015 Yoga 3 Pro to scan documents and books, and processing the ultra high res scan images on it was awesome. I used the custom software with my Kodak i2420[?].

But the 2016 Yoga 900 laptop would be an awesome buy for a laptop without a discrete GPU. The intel Iris HD 540 on it is a powerful 1346 passmark.

Lenovo Yoga 900 (13") | Ultralight 2-in-1 Laptop *| Lenovo US

PassMark - Intel Iris 540 - Price performance comparison
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-17-2016, 02:08 PM
 
Location: St. Louis
3,287 posts, read 1,674,680 times
Reputation: 2163
I use a Nikon camera instead of a scanner when I can. The images go the harddrive direct and I just click and shuffle pages. I built my own stand for the camera, 3/4" PVC piping and a board.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-17-2016, 02:26 PM
 
1,137 posts, read 793,442 times
Reputation: 689
Quote:
Originally Posted by OpanaPointer View Post
I use a Nikon camera instead of a scanner when I can. The images go the harddrive direct and I just click and shuffle pages. I built my own stand for the camera, 3/4" PVC piping and a board.
Can you show us a pic of your scanning camera setup?

I got this: Kodak i2420 scanner
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-17-2016, 02:59 PM
 
Location: St. Louis
3,287 posts, read 1,674,680 times
Reputation: 2163
Quote:
Originally Posted by JTE1969 View Post
Can you show us a pic of your scanning camera setup?

I got this: Kodak i2420 scanner
It's nothing fancy, but it folds up to fit in a back pack when I'm going after reference works that can't leave a library. TSA always gives me the fish-eye when I bring it on a flight.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-17-2016, 03:00 PM
 
Location: St. Louis
3,287 posts, read 1,674,680 times
Reputation: 2163
The above was the first attempt, and the tripod worked, but I didn't really like it, so I put a board on top and cut a hole for the camera. After that, it was just position and click. The stand works on the edge of the table, too. I've copied 48"x48" maps that way. The two diagonal pipes aren't locked in. Remove them and the whole thing is about 6" deep, easy fit into a back pack.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-17-2016, 06:20 PM
 
Location: Gladstone, Oregon
102 posts, read 65,590 times
Reputation: 81
Stick with integrated, I am using my integrated on my laptop because the dedicated GPU is giving me blue screens.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-17-2016, 06:44 PM
 
Location: St. Louis
3,287 posts, read 1,674,680 times
Reputation: 2163
Quote:
Originally Posted by OregonBear View Post
Stick with integrated, I am using my integrated on my laptop because the dedicated GPU is giving me blue screens.
I have wizards.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-17-2016, 07:46 PM
 
1,137 posts, read 793,442 times
Reputation: 689
Quote:
Originally Posted by OregonBear View Post
Stick with integrated, I am using my integrated on my laptop because the dedicated GPU is giving me blue screens.
It could be a sign that your GPU is breaking or else maybe if the GPU is ATI, - well, ATI stinks.

Opanapointer - thanks 4 d pic.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-18-2016, 06:26 AM
 
Location: Ponte Vedra Beach FL
14,628 posts, read 18,270,440 times
Reputation: 6728
Quote:
Originally Posted by JTE1969 View Post
It could be a sign that your GPU is breaking or else maybe if the GPU is ATI, - well, ATI stinks.

Opanapointer - thanks 4 d pic.
I had that ATI problem on my old computer:

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...4-0bc16797b134

It's something I'm not going to miss on the new one. Robyn
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:27 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top