U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Celebrating Veterans Day!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 08-25-2016, 05:45 AM
 
2,709 posts, read 3,001,518 times
Reputation: 1226

Advertisements

Strange title, I know. Let's see if I can explain. Years ago, when I first downloaded Firefox onto MS Windows, the man who did it for me set it up to show a large screen with nothing except a Google search bar in the center. I have often wondered why I can get no Firefox home page with news, etc. Today, I discovered that the URL for this page is https://www.google.com/

It is a Google page, not a Firefox page! OK. On the menu bar I opened the Windows menu and found: Minimize, Zoom and Google. The Google name has a check mark beside it.

What would happen if I removed that check mark? Would I then get the Firefox home page. And would there still be a search bar on it?

I no longer use MS Windows. I am using a Mac. But I find no place on my Mac that provides news headlines which is really what I am searching for.

Thank you for reply.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 08-25-2016, 05:51 AM
 
Location: St. Louis
3,287 posts, read 1,671,646 times
Reputation: 2163
Look up "RSS Feeds". You'll find all kinds of headlines.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-25-2016, 05:58 AM
 
Location: Amelia View
4,241 posts, read 12,760,009 times
Reputation: 3790
Firefox is a browser and you can set the homepage, the first page that you see when you open it, to whatever webpage you want. Both my Firefox and Internet Explorer open to the Google search page.

I only know how to change it in Windows 7. In that OS one goes to the Control Panel, clicks Internet Options, and under the General Tab is a space to type in a preferred home page URL. Mine has {http://www.google.com]Google} (without the brackets).

Obviously your Mac's Firefox has been set up with the same home page URL. Someone here will be able to tell you how to achieve changing it to whatever you prefer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-25-2016, 06:04 AM
 
2,709 posts, read 3,001,518 times
Reputation: 1226
Quote:
Originally Posted by OpanaPointer View Post
Look up "RSS Feeds". You'll find all kinds of headlines.
Just Google RSS Feeds? Thank you. That will get it. Perhaps better than a home page with news which can be overwhelming. I'll try that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-25-2016, 06:07 AM
 
Location: St. Louis
3,287 posts, read 1,671,646 times
Reputation: 2163
Sounds like some of us have Google set as our prefered search engine. In Firefox you would click on the icon with the three horizontal bars in the upper right of the page. Then click on "Options", then "Search" and look at "Default Search Engine." Review the options on that page.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-25-2016, 10:32 AM
 
1,211 posts, read 834,609 times
Reputation: 2156
Type 'aboutreferences' (without the ' ') in the address bar. There you can set your home page to whatever you want. You can even start up the browser with multiple tabs open (for example, Google, email, news site, etc.) It's easiest to open whatever page(s) you want and click Use Current Pages.

That should be about(colon)preferences, not smiley face.

Last edited by JonahWicky; 08-25-2016 at 10:44 AM.. Reason: CD parsing error
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-25-2016, 01:06 PM
 
Location: OH>IL>CO>CT
5,414 posts, read 8,772,373 times
Reputation: 7518
Your installer person did not set FF's Home page to the Google bar, that's is FF's default Home page.

You can change the Startup Home page to any website, bookmark, you want. Even a blank page.

On a Mac, go to Firefox in the top menu bar, select Preferences>General. (or type ⌘, (Command comma) )
There you will see the boxes to change/enter what you want.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-25-2016, 01:47 PM
 
2,709 posts, read 3,001,518 times
Reputation: 1226
Thank you, everyone.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-25-2016, 02:05 PM
 
40,161 posts, read 41,766,549 times
Reputation: 16735
Click the the three horizontal bars up in the right and then click options. In the general section which should open by default is the start page. You can set multiple tabs to load by separating them with a |

http://google.com|http://yahoo.com|http://example.com

That will open all three sites when you start the browser.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-25-2016, 02:37 PM
 
2,709 posts, read 3,001,518 times
Reputation: 1226
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecoalman View Post
Click the the three horizontal bars up in the right and then click options. In the general section which should open by default is the start page. You can set multiple tabs to load by separating them with a |

http://google.com|http://yahoo.com|http://example.com

That will open all three sites when you start the browser.
Thanks. Mine doesn't say Options. It says something else that I think is the same. Haven't had time to investigate calmly a I've been out today and am now playing catchup. Later I shall get at it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:09 PM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top