U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-03-2017, 12:38 PM

1,637 posts, read 968,573 times

Advertisements

Just wanted someone's opinion about taking certificates and how helpful are they when it comes to getting a job or advancing your IT career

I have lots of IT work experience and a college IT Degree but i have never bother earning certifications for a couple reasons

- most of the time if I don't know how to resolve an IT issue i either google it or use my effective troubleshooting methods

- soft skills are more important than tech skills in my opinion

- certs are time consuming and expensive failing a test means you lose money and who knows how much of what you learn will really help you on your IT job/career. Probably my biggest issue with certs i don 't doubt theres a lot of interesting fundamentals you can learn but man they take a lot of your time and cost big money

- i read websites like Techcrunch, Spiceworks, Cnet to get an idea of new tech things that might be interesting

Anyways i dont mean to offend anyone here with IT certs

But was just curious?

What do you guys think about certifications?
Does it beat a bachelors degree and experience?

Have you been hired based on your cert?

Do you think they are worth it?

Do the stuff you learn on the certs are useful?

Have you been successful with or without them?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-03-2017, 01:45 PM

3,545 posts, read 5,679,592 times
IMO, experience trumps certs / education.