U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 12-03-2017, 10:51 PM
 
6 posts, read 3,478 times
Reputation: 11

Advertisements

Networks can consist of hubs, switches, routers and bridges. If you were setting up a network with 100 nodes and you wanted no more than 25 nodes per segment: what devices and connections would you use and why? How would you set up these 25 nodes per segments (e.g., where would you place the router, hubs or switches)?



Can someone please help me out with this. I have these questions for my discussion this week for class.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 12-04-2017, 12:17 AM
 
Location: Vallejo
14,512 posts, read 16,536,277 times
Reputation: 13066
Yes.

Go ahead and do the assignment. It's not complicated. Start with understanding what a segment is and you're pretty much there. If you need to go, ahead and learn what hubs, switches, routers, and bridges do and what a node is if you don't know already.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-04-2017, 04:44 PM
 
Location: Log "cabin" west of Bangor
5,725 posts, read 6,915,090 times
Reputation: 10448
You won't learn much if we do your homework for you.

Then again, I have to wonder how much you can learn anyway, if you are the sort who thinks he/she can just come here and get others to do it for you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-04-2017, 04:50 PM
 
7,141 posts, read 3,904,178 times
Reputation: 6691
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc89030 View Post
Networks can consist of hubs, switches, routers and bridges. If you were setting up a network with 100 nodes and you wanted no more than 25 nodes per segment: what devices and connections would you use and why? How would you set up these 25 nodes per segments (e.g., where would you place the router, hubs or switches)?



Can someone please help me out with this. I have these questions for my discussion this week for class.
In the time you’d get a response you could have done the research yourself.

Try this -

https://www.webopedia.com/DidYouKnow...switch_hub.asp
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-04-2017, 05:34 PM
 
6 posts, read 3,478 times
Reputation: 11
what i was planning on doing was having I am not sure if it is the best way but this is what i was thinking for the 25 segments was using a star topology with the switch in the middle of the star and then use repeaters. But i was not sure if that would be appropriate. let me know if that sounds right
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-04-2017, 05:36 PM
 
6 posts, read 3,478 times
Reputation: 11
I am not looking for someone to do it for me i was hoping that I would find someone who knows something about this and then I was going to ask them if what i had planned out would work.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-04-2017, 06:44 PM
 
Location: Vallejo
14,512 posts, read 16,536,277 times
Reputation: 13066
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc89030 View Post
what i was planning on doing was having I am not sure if it is the best way but this is what i was thinking for the 25 segments was using a star topology with the switch in the middle of the star and then use repeaters. But i was not sure if that would be appropriate. let me know if that sounds right
There's an infinite number of ways you could do it and no "right" answer. As long as it's no more than 25 nodes per segment, the answer is right. The second half of the problem is why did you configure it the way you did. So you have star topology with a switch in the center and repeaters. So why did you use repeaters? Is there any downside to using repeaters instead of something else? Upsides? Why put a switch in the middle instead of something else?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-05-2017, 12:20 AM
 
6 posts, read 3,478 times
Reputation: 11
Thank you for helping me out, I guess i just needed some reassurance. I have nobody to talk to here that would have any idea since my class is online. But thank you again I really appreciate the help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-05-2017, 10:08 AM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
11,818 posts, read 13,961,605 times
Reputation: 8055
And yet someone is helping you out and you don't continue the discussion. He asked you why you chose repeaters. There's a reason he asked you that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-05-2017, 04:41 PM
 
Location: Vallejo
14,512 posts, read 16,536,277 times
Reputation: 13066
That's on him.

If it was my problem set and I was grading it, I'd probably give 25% of the points for does it have no more than 25 nodes per segment and 75% to the explanation. A correct answer isn't the main point of the question. The main point is to demonstrate conceptual understanding. Why has to be answered regardless of configuration but some configurations would require a better explanation than others.

A very simple solution would be to have four bus segments separated with three hubs.
Segment - Hub - Segment - Hub - Segment -Hub - Segment.
It's a very simple correct configuration. As long as the justification showed conceptual understanding, I'd still give full credit for it but it desperately needs an explanation that shows it as the configuration itself does not.

Last edited by Malloric; 12-05-2017 at 04:56 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:44 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top