U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 01-18-2018, 05:01 PM
 
Location: Florida & Cebu, Philippines
2,808 posts, read 2,517,090 times
Reputation: 2877

Advertisements

I would not use Opera for a browser, the Chinese already know too many things about us that they shouldn't.
Opera browser sold to a Chinese consortium for $600 million
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 01-18-2018, 06:08 PM
 
Location: NYC
32 posts, read 10,930 times
Reputation: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Lee View Post
I would not use Opera for a browser, the Chinese already know too many things about us that they shouldn't.
Lenovo is from China too)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-18-2018, 06:17 PM
 
Location: Florida & Cebu, Philippines
2,808 posts, read 2,517,090 times
Reputation: 2877
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matou88 View Post
Lenovo is from China too)
Unless they have spy chips in them, I suspect browser history and signing into important places might be more of a risk when using Opera but who knows in today's world.

Also units sold in the U.S. are likely made in the U.S. but likely with some or all Chinese parts, that would concern me too.
Lenovo hopes to reach US customers faster with 'Made in USA' computers
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-18-2018, 06:49 PM
 
Location: NYC
32 posts, read 10,930 times
Reputation: 20
Now I try to install Win 10 again.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-18-2018, 08:13 PM
 
Location: Sitting on a park bench...
2,753 posts, read 5,966,775 times
Reputation: 739
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peregrine View Post
I have WIndows Agualung. I don't worry about viruses either.
Then you must have some super strong anti-virus programs running, Peregrine. I had Windows 10 running on an old Acer Aspire, and it seriously crashed and burned due to viruses. I ran Ubuntu 14.04 and 16.04, and it ran great. I now using an HP 8740w with Ubuntu 17.10. I'm looking forward to what Ubuntu 18.04 LTS brings. I've been using computers since the days of DOS on an Apple IIc and Windows 3.1 on a 286. Things have changed so much.

There are a lot of different distros out there. Have tried any of the other ones? You might try Fedora.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-19-2018, 10:13 AM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
11,825 posts, read 13,966,567 times
Reputation: 8068
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matou88 View Post
My Lenovo not 10yo. It was released in 2013. I have no idea now what to try to install...
I wasn't implying it was. I meant, Ubuntu should run well on a 10 yr old computer so it should certainly run well on yours.
OK, so Lubuntu took 30 seconds to load... and that's too slow for you? Come on, really?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-19-2018, 02:17 PM
 
Location: NYC
32 posts, read 10,930 times
Reputation: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peregrine View Post
OK, so Lubuntu took 30 seconds to load... and that's too slow for you? Come on, really?
I checked other laptop and desktop now... Win7 took about 1 minute) So 30 sec seemed slow before) Sorry, guys, I was confused.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-20-2018, 09:43 AM
 
Location: NYC
32 posts, read 10,930 times
Reputation: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peregrine View Post
I have WIndows Agualung. I don't worry about viruses either.
What is it? I googled, but found nothing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-22-2018, 07:47 AM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
11,825 posts, read 13,966,567 times
Reputation: 8068
I was replaying to City Data user Aqualung. I should have used a comma.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-22-2018, 10:52 AM
 
Location: Sitting on a park bench...
2,753 posts, read 5,966,775 times
Reputation: 739
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peregrine View Post
I was replaying to City Data user Aqualung. I should have used a comma.
You must have been in a coma, Peregrine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:30 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top