U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 01-28-2018, 12:47 PM
 
Location: God's Country
5,188 posts, read 3,653,378 times
Reputation: 8689

Advertisements

PC went nuts yesterday. Black screens, white screens, one message said that my OS was not genuine.
Nothing worked, not only IE but also the internal stuff. Couldn't even shut down. Had to pull the plug. Just what I need on a weekend with no techs in the area working.


Couldn't sleep. So I got up at 3am and saw that Malwarebytes was disabled. Did even Malwarebytes succumb to something nasty??? If so, there's no hope.


Maybe because internet traffic is low at that hour, I dunno, but I was able to get online albeit very s-l-o-w-l-y and type-in malwarebytes into the search engine.


https://betanews.com/2018/01/27/malwarebytes-slow/


Feel a lot better now
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 01-28-2018, 01:25 PM
 
Location: Baker City, Oregon
3,819 posts, read 5,982,404 times
Reputation: 6295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calvert Hall '62 View Post
PC went nuts yesterday. Black screens, white screens, one message said that my OS was not genuine.
........
Thread from yesterday: odd but seemingly serious computer glitch ... WT...?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-28-2018, 03:19 PM
 
Location: Florida
4,632 posts, read 3,958,568 times
Reputation: 4494
Sounds like you have a virus. Turn off your router so you are not connected to the internet.
Boot in safe mode and run full scans using whatever software you have - malware bytes, Defender etc.
Look at you uninstall program and see if a new program that you do not recognize has just been downloaded. This could be the problem so uninstall.
Look in your browsers for add on programs and disable or delete those you do not know.
Run a program like CCleaner and run a defrag program.
The idea is to clean up you computer as much as possible.
Go back on line and update your virus programs and re run.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-29-2018, 01:24 AM
 
1,335 posts, read 843,341 times
Reputation: 802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calvert Hall '62 View Post
PC went nuts yesterday. Black screens, white screens, one message said that my OS was not genuine.
Nothing worked, not only IE but also the internal stuff. Couldn't even shut down. Had to pull the plug. Just what I need on a weekend with no techs in the area working.


Couldn't sleep. So I got up at 3am and saw that Malwarebytes was disabled. Did even Malwarebytes succumb to something nasty??? If so, there's no hope.


Maybe because internet traffic is low at that hour, I dunno, but I was able to get online albeit very s-l-o-w-l-y and type-in malwarebytes into the search engine.


https://betanews.com/2018/01/27/malwarebytes-slow/


Feel a lot better now
As above, this is one of the key warning signs that you may have some type of virus or malware.

If a redownload of MWB won't identify and fix the problem you may need to ask for specialist to help out.

It's also important that you find some way to back up essential files to some type of external media, then have that examined at some point later as well to ensure that nothing nasty came along for the ride when you did the backup.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-29-2018, 06:39 AM
 
Location: Florida & Cebu, Philippines
2,808 posts, read 2,516,174 times
Reputation: 2877
If you have Malawarebytes in your computer then the problem was caused by them, they admit they screwed up, see the below.
Quote:
https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/new...amservice-exe/
First reported in the Malwarebytes forums, numerous people have been complaining today about mbamservice.exe consuming large amount of memory and spiking the CPU at over 90% usage. This has caused some computers to crash or become too unstable to use.
Computer Went Crazy -- Scared Me Half To Death-capture.jpg
One of my friends computers is completely locked up according to him on the phone last night, he has a slow connection, so I told him to bring it to my condo this morning and hopefully my fast internet connection speed will help me work to get it running again.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-29-2018, 09:20 AM
 
Location: Raleigh, NC
2,296 posts, read 3,488,479 times
Reputation: 3007
+1 to Mr. Lee

This is NOT a virus, it's a glitch in Malwarebytes latest update.
Google: https://www.google.com/search?q=Malw...w=1356&bih=859
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-29-2018, 12:31 PM
 
367 posts, read 332,530 times
Reputation: 375
...

Last edited by MarineBlue; 01-29-2018 at 12:52 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-29-2018, 12:44 PM
 
1,335 posts, read 843,341 times
Reputation: 802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Lee View Post
If you have Malawarebytes in your computer then the problem was caused by them, they admit they screwed up, see the below.

Attachment 194868
One of my friends computers is completely locked up according to him on the phone last night, he has a slow connection, so I told him to bring it to my condo this morning and hopefully my fast internet connection speed will help me work to get it running again.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed_RDNC View Post
+1 to Mr. Lee

This is NOT a virus, it's a glitch in Malwarebytes latest update.
Google: https://www.google.com/search?q=Malw...w=1356&bih=859
The OP is already aware that it's a problem with the MWB update. Note the link in the first post.

If a redownload (a further update) doesn't correct the problem, then it's still recommended he do the things advised above.

All of this is most likely due to MWB itself, but I think it's best to be cautious in this case, given that bug reports mention high CPU and memory usage as the main problems with the update rather than one or two of the other glitches he describes.



Last edited by Hightower72; 01-29-2018 at 01:54 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:57 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top