U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 02-07-2018, 05:20 PM
 
Location: Vallejo
14,518 posts, read 16,543,509 times
Reputation: 13069

Advertisements

And it doesn't matter anyway. You don't need multiple monitors to do split screen.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 02-10-2018, 12:28 PM
 
Location: 5,400 feet
2,754 posts, read 2,697,393 times
Reputation: 3934
I recently bought an LG monitor and it comes with software that allows you to split the screen in a variety of splits. I'm running Windows 7.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-13-2018, 05:21 PM
 
2,360 posts, read 1,287,974 times
Reputation: 2093
Yep agree.

1. Buy monitor with dual outputs. .( $$$)
2. If your desktop, you will need 2 outputs one for each monitor.
3. If your a laptop, you have one HDMI/VGA on every Laptop made after 2000. You can have your #1 laptop as one and the out put as #2 monitor. Windows will recognize both and fix the issue for you. I run 3 monitors on one laptop at work, can run 4 if i use the laptop.

Moderator cut: image removed

Last edited by Marka; 02-27-2018 at 03:54 AM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-20-2018, 07:39 AM
 
Location: London, U.K.
3,036 posts, read 3,377,486 times
Reputation: 1722
get a saw and cut the screen in two
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-20-2018, 07:44 AM
 
10,077 posts, read 4,959,488 times
Reputation: 15414
I use my phone/tablet as second monitor sometimes... they have apps for that too

usually smaller screen for hand input or watching a video/reading an article but it works when second monitor isn't there.

or I use tv as second monitor with screen mirror from phone
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-23-2018, 01:30 PM
 
Location: McAllen, TX
3,972 posts, read 2,617,954 times
Reputation: 4741
Quote:
Originally Posted by ironpony View Post
Basically I have a lot of computer work to do, but it would be a lot easier if I could have two screens. Basically I have to two programs open, but I would like to see both programs at the same time. I want to be able to type into one program, while watching the other, and I do not want either screen to click off, when I am typing in the one.

Every tutorial I have watched on this, is like this:

They say to hit the multiple displays option. My computer is a windows 7 but it does not have the multiple displays option. So in that case, what do I do then?
Minimize all of the windows you have open except the two that you want side by side. Right click on the task bar and choose 'Show Windows Side by Side'. That's it. Other than getting two monitors and the appropriate video card/connections, that is the only way to do it with a single monitor. You could do the same by resizing and moving the two windows manually but that makes it easier. Multiple displays means just that.

By the way, where is the OP? Why are we wasting our time?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-26-2018, 12:44 PM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
11,825 posts, read 13,966,567 times
Reputation: 8068
Quote:
Originally Posted by hitpausebutton2 View Post
Yep agree.

1. Buy monitor with dual outputs. .( $$$)
2. If your desktop, you will need 2 outputs one for each monitor.
3. If your a laptop, you have one HDMI/VGA on every Laptop made after 2000. You can have your #1 laptop as one and the out put as #2 monitor. Windows will recognize both and fix the issue for you. I run 3 monitors on one laptop at work, can run 4 if i use the laptop.
Dear Jeffrey;

You really shouldn't post a photograph of your Outlook inbox that is so easily readible.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-26-2018, 04:50 PM
 
2,360 posts, read 1,287,974 times
Reputation: 2093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peregrine View Post
Dear Jeffrey;

You really shouldn't post a photograph of your Outlook inbox that is so easily readible.
Yea i realized it after it was done. Nothing that will get me in trouble as secrets. but will request it to be deleted for privacy concernts lol..
thanks for pointing it out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:42 AM.

© 2005-2019, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 - Top